Coral Gables boat wins Fort Lauderdale to Key West Race

Co-skippers Eamonn deLisser and James Bill of Coral Gables topped the PHRF B class in the 40th Fort Lauderdale to Key West Race, which concluded Friday. Their Farr 395 Senara completed the 160-mile race in a corrected time of 18hours 16minutes 16seconds.

Fort Lauderdale skipper Danny Escobar’s Grand Cru won the PHRF D class in 20:44:02. Other class winners in the 42-boat regatta: IRC, Spookie, co-skippers Steve and Heidi Benjamin of Norwalk, Connecticut, in 21:33:11; PHRF A, BadFish, skipper Bill Bollin of Sylvania, Ohio, 18:03:51; PHRF C, Holy Toledo!, skipper Tom Andrews of Holland, Ohio, 19:51:39; and Multihull, Flight Simulator, skipper Tom Reese, Youngstown, Ohio, 17:03:12.

America’s Cup skipper Paul Cayard and crew Magnus Liljedahl of Miami — a 2000 Olympic gold medalist — were overall winners of the Star Winter Series of five regattas on Biscayne Bay that began in November and concluded with the Star Midwinters on Jan.11. Miami skipper Augie Diaz and crew Arnis Baltins won top team honors in the Midwinters event.

Brothers Senet and Clay Bischoff, Miami natives and former top collegiate sailors, teamed with Ben Kinney to win the Sid Doren Memorial Regatta for Etchells sailboats, which concluded Jan.11. A fleet of 49 competed.


▪ Guy Harvey Outpost Resorts & Lodges has teamed with the Snook and Gamefish Foundation to launch a worldwide cyber fishing tournament that will run through the end of 2015. Anglers can download the free Guy Harvey Outpost iGHOFISH app on iOS and Android phones through Google Play and the APP Store, then start fishing and logging their trips, catches and photos. Organizers Mark Ellert, president of Guy Harvey Outpost, and Brett Fitzgerald, executive director of the Snook and Gamefish Foundation, say the “GHO Fish for the Future” Tournament is aimed at gathering more data for science-based fisheries management while rewarding anglers who contribute with prizes such as gear and resort stays. There are no tournament boundaries, and “secret spots remain secret,” according to Ellert. The leaderboard will be posted at GHOFISH.com and winners will be announced at the end of the year.

▪ The International Game Fish Foundation will honor the fishing contributions of charter captains and crews at the fifth annual “Legendary Captains and Crews” awards ceremony at 6 p.m. Feb. 11 at the IGFA Hall of Fame & Museum in Dania Beach. The 2015 honorees include: the late captain Jose Wejebe of Key West, host of the popular Spanish Fly TV show and outstanding tournament guide; Stuart captain Peter B. Wright, who has caught more marlin exceeding 1,000 pounds than any captain or angler in history; New England captain Al Anderson, credited with tagging more gamefish for science than anyone worldwide; captain Christian Benazeth of Africa, who has either caught or guided customers to at least 20 world records on light tackle and fly rod; and Emmett “Mutt” Cobble, a lifetime mate in Australia. Admission to the dinner and ceremony is $75 per person. Call Denise Hartman at 954-924-4243 or email dhartman@igfa.org.

▪ Families are invited to attend the seventh annual “Rainer and Noel’s Excellent Camping Adventure,” held Jan.24-25 at the Flamingo campground in Everglades National Park. The event supports the park’s CAMP program, which introduces South Florida families to camping and the Glades. Tickets are $40 for adults; $20 for kids under 18. Admission to the Saturday night campfire dinner only is $15. For more information, email Rainer@rs-env.com or call 305-979-4290.

▪ Everglades National Park reminds visitors that Paurotis Pond is closed to visitors through the end of the bird-nesting season, which can vary by days or weeks. The closed area includes the pond itself and the area beyond the parking lot adjacent to the pond. For updates, call the park at 305-242-7700 Monday through Friday between 8a.m. and 4:30 p.m.

Related stories from Miami Herald