Sports Media: Networks update their rosters for 2015 NFL season

Al Michaels, left, and Cris Collinsworth are back as NBC’s announcing team for NFL games.
Al Michaels, left, and Cris Collinsworth are back as NBC’s announcing team for NFL games. Richard Shotwell/Invision/AP

Rounding up network plans for the NFL this season:


▪ What’s on: Sunday road games of AFC teams; a few crossover NFC games (including Bears-Seahawks in Week 3); Thursday night games during Weeks 2 through 8, plus Packers-Lions on Thursday, Dec. 3 and Panthers-Cowboys on Thanksgiving.

▪ What’s new: All announcing teams return, with the exception of Jamie Erdahl replacing Jenny Dell as a sideline reporter.

▪ Announcing teams: Jim Nantz-Phil Simms, Ian Eagle-Dan Fouts, Greg Gumbel-Trent Green, Kevin Harlan-Rich Gannon, Spero Dedes-Solomon Wilcots, Andrew Catalon-Steve Tasker-Steve Beuerlein, Tom McCarthy-Adam Archuleta and Brian Anderson-Chris Simms.

▪ Extra point: As Dan Marino’s replacement in studio, Tony Gonzalez was polished and likable as a TV rookie last season but never offered anything of great depth. Bart Scott, Shannon Sharpe’s replacement last season, isn’t as polished as Gonzalez, but his remarks often were more substantive. James Brown, Boomer Esiason and Bill Cowher return to the pregame cast.


▪ What’s on: Sunday road games of NFC teams, a few crossover AFC games and Eagles-Lions on Thanksgiving.

▪ What’s new: Fox has separated the Moose/Goose announcing team, with Tony Siragusa leaving Daryl Johnston and pairing with Thom Brennaman and Charles Davis, who moves over from college games. … Fox Sports Net’s 11 a.m. pregame show is shifting to Fox.

▪ Announcing teams: Joe Buck-Troy Aikman, Kevin Burkhardt-John Lynch, Kenny Albert-Johnston; Brennaman-Davis; Chris Myers-Ronde Barber; Dick Stockton-David Diehl; Sam Rosen with alternating analysts (Chris Cooley, Matt Millen, Kirk Morrison, Brady Quinn).

▪ Extra points: Colin Cowherd, who left ESPN for Fox, will have a role on that new 11 a.m. hour of the pregame show. … Fox intended to use Donovan McNabb as an game analyst this season before his second DUI arrest.


▪ What’s on: Sunday night games, the Thursday season opener (Steelers-Patriots on Sept. 10) and Bears-Packers at 8:30 p.m. on Thanksgiving.

▪ What’s new: On the cable side, Rodney Harrison agreed to join Paul Burmeister and Mike Florio on Pro Football Talk at 6 p.m. weeknights on NBCSN.

▪ Announcing team: Al Michaels, Cris Collinsworth.

▪ Extra point: NBC’s schedule is once again the best of the prime-time packages, highlighted by Giants-Cowboys, Seahawks-Packers and Patriots-Broncos.


▪ What’s on: Monday night games every week (except Week 17), plus a wild-card playoff game.

▪ What’s new: NFL Countdown has been shortened by an hour and will run 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. Look for a faster-paced format and an increased presence from fantasy football expert Matthew Berry. … Replacing the 10 a.m. to 11 a.m. hour of Countdown: a Sunday edition of NFL Insiders, with Trey Wingo, Adam Schefter, Chris Mortensen and Louis Riddick.

▪ Announcing teams: Mike Tirico-Jon Gruden for every game except Vikings-49ers, the second game of the Sept. 14 doubleheader. Chris Berman and Trent Dilfer call that game.

▪ Extra point: Suzy Kolber becomes the new on-site host and postgame SportsCenter anchor for Monday Night Football.

NFL Network

▪ What’s on: Every Thursday night game except Week 1 and Thanksgiving (which NBC gets), plus two Saturday night games: Jets-Cowboys in Week 15, Redskins-Eagles in Week 16.

▪ What’s new: Warren Sapp was dumped after an alleged assault on a prostitute during Super Bowl weekend. Maurice Jones-Drew and Ike Taylor were hired as analysts on NFL Total Access.

▪ Announcing team: Nantz-Simms.

▪ Extra point: NFL Network’s Sunday 11:30 p.m. GameDay Final highlights show — with Chris Rose, Marshall Faulk, Michael Irvin and Deion Sanders — delivers the long-form highlights that ESPN perfected when it aired NFL PrimeTime, which ended in 2005.


▪ What’s on: Inside The NFL every Wednesday night.

▪ What’s new: Ed Reed was dropped after one season because Showtime wanted to reduce the number of analysts.

▪ Studio team: Gumbel, Esiason, Simms (when schedule permits), Jets receiver Brandon Marshall (when schedule permits). Irvin will fill in.

▪ Extra point: Collinsworth was missed last season, but Esiason — though a bit overexposed — was a thoughtful, logical replacement.

Related stories from Miami Herald