Miami Marlins

The way of the Marlins: It’s all or nothing

Josh Beckett is carried off the field at Yankee Stadium after he led the Marlins to a Game 6 win and the 2003 World Series championship.
Josh Beckett is carried off the field at Yankee Stadium after he led the Marlins to a Game 6 win and the 2003 World Series championship.

Just three days after social media had itself a laugh at pictures of an approximate 35,000 vacant seats at Marlins Park for a Wednesday matinee between the Marlins and the Phillies, Edinson Volquez went out and tossed the sixth no-hitter in franchise history.

Since the Marlins’ birth as an expansion team in 1993, no Major League franchise has thrown more no-hitters than Florida’s National League team.

Such is life around the Marlins.

Although this is a franchise bound in the negative, over their first 25 seasons, the Marlins have delivered goods many other franchises have not.

Yes, there are plenty of oddities when it comes to the Marlins.

Take, for instance, the no-hitters.

The Marlins, since Al Leiter threw the first one, have six of them. Cleveland, Baltimore, Kansas City, Milwaukee and Toronto all have no-hitters in their histories, yet none since the Charlie Hough threw his first knuckleball at Joe Robbie Stadium in 1993.

Atlanta, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Texas, Colorado and Tampa Bay have just one during that span.

The San Diego Padres, who started up in 1969, have yet to throw one. The Mets didn’t get their first no-no until 2012.

The Marlins may not partake in the postseason all that much.

Yet when they do, they take it all.

Florida Marlins manager Jack McKeon enjoys the 2003 World Series parade in downtown Miami. Walter Michot Miami Herald file photo

In 24 seasons, the Marlins have been to the playoffs twice. Both times, the Marlins went in as a wild card.

Both times, the Marlins won the whole thing.

By winning the World Series in 1997 and 2003, the Marlins have the same amount of championships — overall — as the Mets, Royals and Blue Jays and one more than the Angels and Diamondbacks.

Six Major League teams have yet to win a championship including the Rays, Rockies (who came into the league with the Marlins in 1993), Astros, Brewers, Mariners and Nationals/Expos.

Don Smiley hoists the Championship trophy in the Marlins locker room after the Marlins defeated the Cleveland Indians in Game 7 of the 1997 World Series. To his right with a cigar in his mouth is club owner H. Wayne Huizenga. WALTER MICHOT Miami Herald File Photo

Since 1993, the Marlins have more championships than everyone but three teams: The Yankees, Giants and Red Sox.

As with the Marlins, St. Louis has won the World Series twice since 1993.

It has been a while since the Marlins have had the opportunity to play for a title.

Florida Marlins ace Livan Hernandez celebrates the World Series championship in 1997. JOE RIMKUS JR Miami Herald file photo

The Marlins’ postseason drought is now at 13 seasons with it looking like it will be extended to 14.

Only Seattle has been out of the playoffs longer, the Mariners not advancing since losing to the Yankees in the 2001 ALCS.



6: Miami/Florida Marlins

5: San Francisco, Philadelphia (Roy Hallady had a perfect game against the Marlins in 2010)

4: Los Angeles Dodgers (Ramon Martinez no-hit the Marlins in 1995), Boston, New York Yankees, Seattle

3: Chicago White Sox, Chicago Cubs, Houston, Minnesota, Washington (Jordan Zimmermann no-hit the Marlins in 2014)

2: Cincinnati, Los Angeles Angels, St. Louis, Detroit, Arizona

1: Atlanta, Oakland, Pittsburgh, Texas, Colorado, Tampa Bay, New York Mets

0: Cleveland, Baltimore, Kansas City, Milwaukee, Toronto, San Diego*

(*) — The Padres have yet to throw a no-hitter in their franchise’s history


5: New York Yankees

3: San Francisco, Boston

2: Florida Marlins, St. Louis

1: Chicago Cubs, Kansas City, Philadelphia, Chicago White Sox, Anaheim Angels, Arizona, Atlanta, Toronto


15 years: Seattle Mariners

13 years: Miami Marlins

10 years: San Diego Padres

Related stories from Miami Herald