Miami-Dade High Schools

Miami-Dade honors high school scholar-athletes

On Monday morning, it was time again to salute Miami-Dade County’s best examples of athletic and academic excellence.

The Dade Schools Athletic Foundation held its annual Scholar-Athlete luncheon at the Miami Airport Hilton hotel where eight different sponsoring foundations awarded scholarships to local student-athletes.

The event recognized a boy and girl Scholar-Athlete nominee from 37 Dade high schools.

Miami High girls’ basketball coach Sam Baumgarten was named the William R. Nash/Dade Schools Athletic Foundation Coach of the Year. Baumgarten led the Stingarees to their second consecutive state championship this past season and was chosen among a group that included Miami Central football coach Roland Smith and boys’ basketball coach Maurice Troupe, Dr. Krop boys’ basketball coach Christopher Garcia and TERRA softball coach Crystal Forjan.

Lauren Book, the CEO of the Lauren’s Kids Foundation, served as the event’s guest speaker. Her organization presented $1,000 scholarships to Goleman bowler Gabriella Sallai and Miami Killian baseball player Keith Stevens.

Ferguson’s Santiago Castro got a standing ovation when he was presented as this year’s Special Olympic Inspirational Athlete of the Year. Castro, a member of the Ferguson tennis team, has played several team sports since he was a year old even with nondisabled peers and started playing tennis when he was 10.

The Dade Schools Athletic Foundation Hall of Fame awarded $2,000 scholarships to South Miami’s Amarys Sanchez (cross-country, soccer, badminton) and Hialeah Gardens’ Xebastian Aguilar (basketball, cross-country, volleyball).

The Orange Bowl presented its General Chappie James Memorial awards. The Gold winners ($2,500 scholarships) to Mourning swimming/water polo standout Marianna Lombello and Miami Beach swimmer/water polo standout Aaron Lowenstein. The Silver winners ($1,500) were MAST Academy’s Ashley Waiters (soccer, volleyball, track) and Ferguson’s Jesse Rascon (football, wrestling, track). The Bronze winners ($1,000 scholarships) were Homestead runner and soccer player Shelby Weber and Coral Reef’s Reuben Joseph (football, wrestling, track).

The Junior Orange Bowl Committee granted $1,000 scholarships to tennis stars Stephanie Levine of Palmetto and Larry Pye of Northwestern. It also presented $1,000 scholarships to Miami Beach’s Elizabeth Hopkins (golf, basketball and softball) and Dr. Krop’s Joseph Levy (swimming/tennis). And $500 scholarships were awarded to Ferguson runner Lauren Gavulic and Varela runner/swimmer Adrian Elkind.

The Albert B. Johnson, Sr. Memorial foundation awarded $500 scholarships to Miami High volleyball and softball standout Katiria Delisle, North Miami wrestler Daniel Marcelin and Coral Reef wrestler Fred Mathieu.

Arena Advertising & Sports Marketing Inc. presented $500 scholarships to TERRA’s Grace Cope (volleyball, basketball, badminton), Ferguson basketball and track standout Kamaria Johnson and Braddock’s Alyssa Flores (volleyball, basketball, softball). The boys’ recipients were Coral Park’s Brandon Hernandez (badminton, football, basketball, track, volleyball), South Dade’s Joe Suarez (football, basketball) and American’s Jeremiah Dinson (football, track).

The DIBIA Dream Awards presented $250 scholarships to Booker T. Washington football player Terry Jefferson and Coral Reef lacrosse standout Kristin Putz.


Longtime Dr. Krop tennis coach Mike Kypriss is one of eight finalists for the National High School Athletic Coaches Association National Coach of the Year award. The award recognizing coaching longevity, win-loss record, championship years, honors, service at the high school level and membership honors coaches in 19 sports and will be presented June 20 in Rochester, Minnesota. Kypriss won the award for girls’ tennis in 2006.


▪ District 13-2A final — Boca Christian 5, Zion Lutheran 0:

BC 1 0 0 4 0 0 X — 0 3 1

ZL 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 — 5 10 0

WP: Rataiczak 5-3. LP: Paul. Top Performers: Hossmann 3-3. McSweeney 1-3, 2 RBI. BC 13-12-1.


▪ Region 4-3A quarterfinal — Marathon 15, Miami Country Day 0.



Region 4-8A semifinal: Palmetto at Coral Reef, 4

Region 4-8A semifinal: Flanagan at McArthur, 7

Region 3-8A semifinal: Douglas at Western, 7

Region 4-7A semifinal: St. Thomas Aquinas at American, 4

Region 4-7A semifinal: West Boca Raton at Monarch, 4

Region 4-6A semifinal: TERRA at Doral, 7

Region 4-6A semifinal at Silver Lakes South: Stuart South Fork vs. Pines Charter, 7

Region 4-5A semifinal: Riviera Beach Suncoast at American Heritage, 7

Region 4-4A semifinal at Betti Stradling Park: Calvary Christian vs. Coral Springs Charter, 4

Region 4-4A semifinal: Florida Christian at Gulliver, 4

Region 4-3A semifinal at Palmetto Bay Park: Marathon vs. Westminster Christian, 7

Region 4-2A semifinal at TBA: Grandview Prep vs. Boca Raton Christian-Sheridan Hills Christian winner, 4

Region 4-2A semifinal: Miami Christian at Colonial Christian, 4


District 8 semifinals at Coral Glades: 5 and 7

District 9 semifinals at Cardinal Gibbons: Pine Crest vs. St. Thomas Aquinas, 4; Cardinal Gibbons vs. Western, 6

District 10 semifinals at Archbishop McCarthy: West Broward vs. Cypress Bay, 5; Cooper City vs. Archbishop McCarthy, 7

District 11 semifinals at McArthur: 5 and 7

District 12 semifinals at Mourning: Hialeah Gardens vs. Monsignor Pace, 4; Mourning vs. Hialeah-Miami Lakes, 6

District 14 semifinals at Belen Jesuit: Ransom vs. Belen, 5; Columbus vs. Florida Christian, 7

District 16 semifinals at Palmetto: Coral Reef vs. Killian, 5; Palmetto vs. Westminster Christian, 7


District 26 semifinals at Douglas: Coral Springs vs. Coral Glades, 4; Taravella vs. Coral Springs Charter, 6

District 28 semifinals at Dillard: Piper vs. Fort Lauderdale, 4:30; 6

District 32 final at Milander Park: 7