High School Sports

Miami Herald preseason prep football tour 2015

Booker T. Washington's football head coach, Earl Tillman, looks over his team during practice at Booker T. Washington High School on Monday, August 3, 2015.
Booker T. Washington's football head coach, Earl Tillman, looks over his team during practice at Booker T. Washington High School on Monday, August 3, 2015. MIAMI HERALD STAFF

The Miami Herald takes a district-by-district tour of the upcoming South Florida high school football season, analyzing some of the top contending teams, top players and compelling storylines.

Monday, Aug. 3: First day of high school practices

▪ Booker T. Washington

▪ St. Thomas Aquinas

▪ Video: St. Thomas Aquinas

▪ Video: Columbus

Tuesday, Aug. 4: Preseason edition of the Miami Herald High School Gridiron Report

▪ Video: Gridiron Report

Wednesday, Aug. 5: (District 16-6A)

▪ Miami Central aims for national title

Thursday, Aug. 6: (District 16-5A)

▪ Hallandale’s hopes rest on QB Huntley

Friday, Aug. 7: (Districts 7-4A/8-4A)

▪ Talented Gulliver squad takes aim at Booker T.

Saturday, Aug. 8: High School Media Day coverage

▪ University School changes look and nickname

▪ Videos: Watch interviews from High School Media Day

Sunday, Aug. 9: (District 15-7A)

▪ Hollywood Hills, Nova lead wide open title race

Monday, Aug. 10: (District 15-8A)

▪ Randy Shannon Jr. more than just famous name at Coral Reef

Tuesday, Aug. 11: (District 12-8A)

▪ Miramar looks to move forward with new coach Pierre Senatus

Wednesday, Aug. 12: (District 13-8A)

▪ American High aims to end trend of late-season letdowns

Thursday, Aug. 13: (District 15-6A)

▪ Dillard refocuses with new motivation, quarterback

Friday, Aug. 14: (District 14-8A)

▪ Led by Keyshawn “Pie” Young, Miami aims to end playoff drought

Saturday, Aug. 15: (District 14-7A)

▪ New member Aquinas leads pack, setting up battle for second

Sunday, Aug. 16: (Districts 8-3A/8-2A)

▪ Chaminade aiming for a return to dominance

Monday, Aug. 17: (District 11-8A)

▪ Stars (such as WR Cavin Ridley) should align for Deerfield Beach

Tuesday, Aug. 18: (District 16-7A)

▪ Rocco Casullo hopes to bring winning ways to Mater Academy

Wednesday, Aug. 19: (Independents)

▪ Coral Glades among independent schools with high hopes

Thursday, Aug. 20: (District 16-8A)

▪ With coaching legend Billy Rolle on board, Southridge ready for battle

Friday, Aug. 21: The Herald’s South Florida Top 20 rankings poll debuts

▪ National champion contender Miami Central tops Herald’s rankings

Saturday, Aug. 22: Top 50 recruits in Dade and Broward

▪ Miami Herald’s Top 50 football players for Class of 2016

▪ Miami Herald’s Top 25 football players for Class of 2017

  Comments