College Sports

Barry men top Florida Memorial; Nova women ranked No. 1

The Barry University men’s basketball team beat Florida Memorial 91-68 on Tuesday night.

The Buccaneers, ranked No.20 in the Division II Sports Information Directors of America media poll and No.24 in the National Association of Basketball Coaches poll, hit 10 three-pointers in a runaway second half.

Yunio Barrueta had 19 points, 10 rebounds, three blocks and three assists for the Buccaneers. Juan Ferrales had 17 points and six assists. Deric Hill had 10 points and two steals. Adrian Gonzalez, who leads the nation in field-goal-shooting percentage, had 10 points and seven rebounds. Tray Leonard had 11 points and four rebounds.

The Buccaneers host the Odio Thanksgiving Classic Friday and Saturday beginning at 5 p.m. Sioux Falls (South Dakota), Young Harris and Puerto Rico-Mayaguez will compete.

Women’s basketball

The Nova Southeastern University women’s basketball team is ranked No.1 for the first time in school history, as voted by the coaches in USA Today poll on Tuesday. In addition, the Sharks were voted No.1 in the Division II Media Poll.

Women’s soccer

The Barry Buccaneers placed five players on the 2014 Daktronics All-South Region team, including three on the first team.

Midfielder Lavinia Nkomo, defender Katie Turner and goalkeeper Becca Rogers all made the first team, and defender Ashley Harlan and forward Shanice Robe made the second team.

Nkomo, a junior who was the Sunshine State Conference Player of the Year, led the Bucs in goals and points. She had two game-winning goals: against Rollins on Oct.4 and against Eckerd on Nov.1.

Turner, a sophomore who was SSC co-Defensive Player of the Year, was the only player to play every minute of the season. She led the defense that allowed the fewest goals in the league and posted seven shutouts in 16 games. Rogers, a senior, was the top keeper in the SSC with a 0.56 goals-against average. She led the league in goals-against average, save percentage and shutouts in the regular season.

The members of the first-team advance to the All-America ballot.