University of Miami

Lauryn Williams, late Sean Taylor to be inducted in University of Miami Sports Hall of Fame

The University of Miami Sports Hall of Fame on Monday unveiled its 2015 class of inductees, with two-time Olympic track and field medalist Lauryn Williams, as well as the late football safety Sean Taylor, headlining the group.

The class of former stars will be introduced at halftime of the Cincinnati game on Saturday at Sun Life Stadium.

The other inductees, for football, are offensive coordinator/tight ends coach Rob Chudzinski, a star tight end who will be inducted for his coaching prowess; defensive lineman Rusty Medearis; linebacker Winston Moss; defensive end Kevin Patrick; and linebacker Jonathan Vilma.

Former pitcher Alex Fernandez will be inducted for baseball, Kym Hope will be inducted for women’s basketball, and Chris Mantilla will be inducted for diving.

“This is an impressive class that reflects the highest level of athletic talent representative of The U,” Hall of Fame president K.C. Jones said in a written statement.

Among his many accolades, Taylor, who was killed by a gunman in 2007, was the 2003 Big East Defensive Player of the year, when he tied the school record with 10 interceptions.

▪ Hurricanes coach Al Golden gave the football team Monday off.

Related stories from Miami Herald