University of Miami

Eight Hurricanes make All-ACC baseball teams

The University of Miami led all programs with eight players selected to the 2015 All-Atlantic Coast Conference baseball teams, as announced Monday by the conference office.

The Hurricanes, who finished with the best overall record of any ACC team at 42-13 and will be the No. 2 seed at the 2015 ACC tournament this week, had three first-team selections, one second-team selection and four third-team selections.

Junior third baseman David Thompson, sophomore catcher/designated hitter Zack Collins and second baseman George Iskenderian were among those recognized with first-team honors.

Thompson, the nation’s RBI leader with 78, led the ACC in home runs (19) and was named one of 35 semifinalists for the Dick Howser Trophy. Collins, a catalyst for Miami’s current 12-game winning streak, finished the season batting .310 with 14 home runs and 60 RBI, the second-most in the ACC. Iskenderian took home the ACC’s regular-season batting title in his first year with the Hurricanes, finishing with a .391 average and starting all 55 games.

Junior left-hander Thomas Woodrey, who anchored Miami’s rotation with a 6-2 record and a 2.62 ERA, was the lone second-team selection. Sophomore outfielder Willie Abreu, closer Bryan Garcia, senior catcher Garrett Kennedy and redshirt junior lefthander Andrew Suarez were named to the third team.

Miami opens the ACC tournament on Wednesday at Durham Bulls Athletic Park in North Carolina against the winner of a play-in game between No.7 seed Virginia and No.10 seed Georgia Tech at 3 p.m.


The No. 6 Nova Southeastern University team was selected to send its varsity-8 boat to the NCAA national championships in Sacramento, California, from May 29 to May 31.

Six teams were selected to compete in Sacramento, with the Sharks receiving a bid to compete in one of two races taking place. NSU will see consensus No. 1 Barry, which will be representing the South Region. No. 2 Humboldt State, the defending champion, will represent the West Region, and No. 3 Mercyhurst will represent the East Region.