Scheck Hillel students earn 2018 Advanced Placement college awards

Members of The College Board Advanced Placement Program awarded 50 AP Scholar awards to Scheck Hillel Community School students for their academic performance across all exams.
Members of The College Board Advanced Placement Program awarded 50 AP Scholar awards to Scheck Hillel Community School students for their academic performance across all exams. Photo provided to the Miami Herald

Fifty Scheck Hillel Community School students earned 2018 Advanced Placement Awards from the College Board for their academic achievement on AP exams.

The College Board’s AP Program provides students with the opportunity to take college-level courses, while attending high school, to earn college credit and advanced placement. The board recognizes several levels of achievement based on students’ scores on exams, including the National AP Scholar Award, AP Scholar with Distinction, AP Scholar with Honor Award and AP Scholar Award.

Winners of the National AP Scholar Award earned an average score of at least 4 on all exams and a 4 or higher on eight or more exams. Scholars include Keith Bonwitt, valedictorian Nathalie Fuhrman, and salutatorian Simi Serfati.

Students awarded the AP Scholar with Distinction Award earned an average score of at least 3.5 on all exams and a 3 or higher on five or more exams. Winners include Esther Benasayag, Joseph Bensabat, Gabriela Bentolila, Keith Bonwitt, Alexa Cohen, Raquel Dimitri, Nathalie Fuhrman, Benjamin Givner, Roy Glazer, Vanessa Gonik, Ariel Grobman, Matias Lancewicki, Max Peicher, Jayme Podgorowiez, Simi Serfati and Albert Wolak.

Winners of the AP Scholar with Honor Award earned an average score of 3.25 on all exams, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more exams. Scholars include Jonathan Abbo, Shelly Albergel, Vivianne Assor, Gabriela Gelman, Joel Herman and Raphael Motola.

Also, 28 students were named AP Scholar awardees for completing three or more exams with a score of 3 or higher. Winners include Moises Bensadon, Monique Bentata, Jaime Bursztyn, Danielle Esquenazi, Alexandra Fincheltub, Hannah Fiske, Alexandra Gelman, Myles Gilbert, Leah Grobman, Emily Kriger, Gabrielle Kurzer, Jonathan Lanes, Nathaniel Melnitsky, Rotem Miara, Rochelle Milhem, David Nagli, Emily Rodman, Maya Rodrig, Amanda Scheck, Shelby Scheck, Lily Schmutter, Yael Sefchovich, Galia Shapiro, David Szkolnik, Alex Wagenberg, Stephanie Weisinger, Danit Weitzman and Abraham Woldenberg.

Network for Teaching Entrepreneurship

Several local student-entrepreneurs are headed to New York City to compete Oct. 11 in the Network for Teaching Entrepreneurship’s 12th annual National Youth Entrepreneurship Challenge. They are vying for $35,000 in seed money to fund their business plans.

Throughout the school year and summer, students have competed against fellow student entrepreneurs to earn their spot in the national competition, taking place at Edison Ballroom, which will include a cocktail reception and youth entrepreneur showcase, where guests can meet the student-winners and purchase their products.

Local students looking to compete next month include Richard Smithies, 16; Vyacheslav Lazurenko, 16; and Christian Garcia Ordonez, 17, of Coral Gables High School; Jason Silveira, 18, of McArthur High School; and James Murray, 15, of Nova High School.

Richard’s business plan, Helios Mining, mines Bitcoin and cryptocurrencies using solar panels to reduce the impact on the environment. Jason’s plan, named Jason’s Karate Academy, was created to better the lives of students by promoting positive experiences through martial arts. Vyacheslav and Christian’s idea, Shield, uses laser technology to create and sell soldier equipment that prioritizes safety with firearms. James’ plan, called Guardian Helper, is an app that prevents children from being left in hot cars.

James also placed first in NFTE’s South Florida Metro StartUp Summer Investment Panel, an eight-week program that supports NFTE graduates looking to launch a new business or grow an existing one, where he won $5,000 for his business plan.

image001 (2).jpg
Javan Allison of Norwood Elementary School, center, with his family and friends after being recognized for authoring his first children’s book titled “#Asthmasucks,” the first of his three-book series “The Adventures of Javan and the 3 A’s.” Photo provided to the Miami Herald

Miami-Dade Public Schools

Javan Allison, a fifth-grade student at Norwood Elementary School, has written his first children’s book, titled “#Asthmasucks.”

“#Asthmasucks” is the first in Javan’s three-book series, “The Adventures of Javan and the 3 A’s,” where he describes how it feels to battle asthma, attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder and anxiety. In the first book, he offers ways to prevent severe asthma attacks through imaginary adventures.

Javan was presented an award by Miami-Dade County School Board Member Steve Gallon, the board, friends and family, his principal and local community members.

School for Advanced Studies

High school students are invited to attend the School for Advanced Studies’ information sessions, Sept. 29 and Oct. 6, for the 2018-19 school year.

School for Advanced Studies is a full-time collegiate high school program where students can complete their last two years of high school while attending Miami Dade College and earn both a high school diploma and Associate of Arts degree. The first session begins 9 a.m. Sept. 29 in the Kendall Campus gym, 11011 SW 104 St., in Building 7. Additional information sessions will take place on Oct. 6, one at 9 a.m. at the North Campus, 11380 NW 27 Ave., in the Lehman Theater; and at 1 p.m. at the Wolfson Campus, 300 NE Second Ave., in room 1261. All applicants must be sophomores with an unweighted 3.0-grade point average.

For information, contact Dennis Lindsay at 305-237-0510 or visit

If you have news for this column, please send it to Adrianne Richardson at