Club + Bars

Ultra Music Festival releases Phase 1 of its 2015 lineup

Photo: Tomas Loewy
Photo: Tomas Loewy

The New Year is here, and that means Miami Music Week (formerly Winter Music Conference, for not-so-old-schoolers) is on the horizon. And that, in turn, means the biggest electronic music event in the world is set to once again bombard the Magic City with banging, blissful bass and big beats.

Yes, the legendary Ultra Music Festival is back for a 17th year, sprawling across Bayfront Park in downtown Miami from March 27-29, bringing its annual who’s-who list of the world’s best DJs and EDM acts. And as has become custom in recent years, the lineup is simply too massive to lay on the party people  all at once – so Phase 1 has just been revealed.

Revelers from last year’s extravaganza who remember Dutch superstar Avicii being hospitalized for gall bladder problems and therefore missing his closing set at UMF will be happy to know that the Grammy-nominated DJ/producer is back in full force. He’ll once again man the Main Stage in support of his upcoming album “Stories,” which features collaborations with Coldplay’s Chris Martin, Jon Bon Jovi, Serj Tankian of System of a Down, Wyclef Jean and Matisyahu.

Fans of the long-lost powerhouse trio Swedish House Mafia can somewhat rejoice, as two of its members, Axwell and Sebastian Ingrosso, will make their UMF debut as a duo. Expect big-room, fist-pumping tracks from their upcoming album. SHM’s third member, Steve Angello, will perform on his own.

Also of note: Norwegian electronic duo Royksopp will hit the Ultra Live stage for the first time since 2011, in support of their appropriately titled final album, “The Inevitable End” (they say they’re not breaking up, however); South African rap-rave group Die Antwoord (“The Answer”) will make its UMF debut; bass bombers Krewella, Bassnectar and Netsky will tremble the earth with thunderous sets; and fan favorite Carl Cox returns for an 11th year hosting the manic Carl Cox & Friends tent.

Additional big names on Phase 1’s bill include (take a deep breath): Afrojack, Armin van Buuren, David Guetta, Deep Dish, Eric Prydz, Hardwell, Knife Party, Skrillex, Steve Aoki, Tiesto, Kygo, Porter Robinson, Art Department, Breathe Carolina, Adam Beyer, Alesso, Locodice, Jamie Jones, Nicky Romero, Martin Garrix, Eats Everything, Fedde le Grand, Guy Gerber, John Digweed, Joris Voorn, Laidback Luke, Paul van Dyk, The Martinez Brothers, Nic Fanciulli, Pete Tong, Sasha, Sunnery James & Ryan Marciano, Umek and Zeds Dead, among dozens of others.

As mind-blowing as this partial lineup is, remember that it’s only Phase 1 – stay tuned for many more huge acts TBA.

For more info and to buy tickets (three-day general admission $449.95, VIP $1,149.95), check out