Miami-Dade High Schools

Dade Schools Athletic Foundation Scholar-Athlete Luncheon honors the best and brightest of Miami-Dade

Miami-Dade Schools Superintendent Alberto Carvalho, a big-time soccer fan, couldn’t help but marvel at Southwest soccer standout Sage Hewitt’s grade-point average when he announced it to the audience Tuesday morning.

Hewitt’s 7.175 was one of the many impressive feats by student-athletes that were honored at the Dade Schools Athletic Foundation Scholar-Athlete Luncheon at the Airport Hilton.

In what has become an annual tradition, several of Dade’s best and brightest were honored at the ceremony with several scholarship awards from a number of sponsors. Longtime University of Miami track and field coach Amy Deem was the guest speaker.

In addition to the scholarship awards, longtime Southwest boys’ basketball coach Tom Moore was honored as the DSAF’s Coach of the Year. Moore, who did not win any major championships during his 31 years as coach, was acknowledged for the significance he had on several of his former players and coaches that went on to have successful careers themselves.

“Whatever you go on to do in your lives, never accept mediocrity,” Moore said in his acceptance speech.

The Special Olympics Inspirational Athlete of the Year award was given to Palmetto’s Megan Fernandez, who participated in soccer, softball, basketball and swimming, but excelled the most at gymnastics — the sport she has received several gold medals in at the county, area and state levels.

The Foundation also honored region superintendent Marcos Moran and one of its longtime directors Karen Cohn for distinguished service.


The Orange Bowl awarded six student-athletes with its Gold, Silver and Bronze scholarships. The Gold winners were Coral Reef golfer/bowler/swimmer Leia Schwartz and American basketball/soccer/track/swimming standout Tristan Enriquez. Each received $2,500 scholarships. The Silver winners that received $1,500 scholarships were South Miami cross-country/soccer/badminton standout Giselle Schreiber and Dr. Krop swimmer/water polo standout Daniel Egozi. The Bronze scholarships ($1,000) were awarded to Hialeah Gardens volleyball/soccer/water polo standout Gabriella Segovia and Mourning football/water polo standout Jacob Mosli.

Arena Advertising and Marketing honored Miami High basketball star Amanda Mendoza, Edison basketball star Cerline Hyppolite and American four-sport star Alexandra Fernandez with $500 scholarships. Its male recipients were North Miami football/wrestling star Steven Decius, Booker T. Washington basketball standout D’Angelo Passmore and South Miami football/soccer/badminton standout Adrian Izquierdo.

DIBIA Athletic Development presented $250 scholarships to Ferguson volleyball star Annika Reczek and Norland basketball player Maurice McDaniel.

Dade Schools Athletic Foundation honored Miami Beach six-sport standout Sabina Osman and MAST Academy three-sport standout Santiago Gambino as its Hall of Fame scholarship recipients.

Inner City Wrestling honored Hialeah Gardens’ Jessica Rodriguez, South Dade’s Maleek Williams and North Miami’s Daniel Leon with its Albert B. Johnson, Sr. Memorial Scholarship awards for $500.

The Junior Orange Bowl committee presented $1,000 scholarships to tennis standouts Alicia Loredo of Hialeah-Miami Lakes and North Miami’s Alexander Setuain, TERRA bowling star Tori Burstein and Jackson football star James Alexander. It also awarded $500 scholarships to Central four-sport standout Jasmine Rose and Sunset distance runner Roman Garcia.

The Lauren’s Kids Foundation honored Edison volleyball standout Christline Amitie and Miami High swimmer and water polo player Joseph Trujillo with $1,000 scholarships.


An interception return for a touchdown by sophomore Emily Acosta with 52 seconds left propelled Mater Academy past Monsignor Pace 6-0 and into the state play-in. Mater will meet the district 31 winner Saturday at 4 p.m. Mater’s (12-1) only loss this season was earlier this year at Pace (9-2) by a score of 7-0.

District 32 final - Mater Academy 6, Pace 0: Alondra Angulo 9-19, 62 yards, 22 rushing yards and three first downs. Emily Acosta 4 receptions, 18 yards and a first down. Kiara Estrada 3 carries for 31 yards, a first down and 1 receptions for 5 yards.

Darren Collette


Mourning d. Hialeah-Miami Lakes 25-6, 25-18, 25-13:

Ransom Everglades d. Florida Christian 25-12, 25-12, 25-13:

District 16 semifinal: Palmetto d. Coral Reef 25-19, 25-14, 26-24:

Belen d. Columbus 22-25, 23-25, 25-21, 28-26, 15-13:


Team Miami won the Florida High School Coaches Tennis Association Championships in Winter Park.

Team Miami consisted of the following seniors: Olivia Thaler (Gulliver), Danna Gandelman (Krop), and Claudia Mackenzie (Ransom), Chase Perez-Blanco (Gulliver), Baker Newman (Gulliver) and Alex Rothman (Krop).



Region 4-7A quarterfinal: South Broward at American, 4

Region 4-7A quarterfinal: Reagan at St. Thomas Aquinas, 7

Region 4-3A quarterfinal: Westwood Christian at Westminster Christian, 4

Region 4-3A quarterfinal at Tequesta Trace Park: Archbishop Carroll at Sagemont, 3:30


District 15 semifinals at Sunset: Varela vs. Sunset, 5; Southwest vs. Braddock, 7



Region 4-8A quarterfinal: South Dade at Columbus, 7

Region 4-8A quarterfinal: Coral Gables at Killian, 3:30

Region 4-8A quarterfinal at Flamingo Park: Everglades vs. Miami High, 7

Region 4-8A quarterfinal: Miami Beach at Flanagan, 7

Region 4-6A quarterfinal: Belen at Miami Springs, 4

Region 4-6A quarterfinal at Westland Gardens Park: Goleman at Mater Academy, 7

Region 4-4A quarterfinal: Gulliver at Florida Christian, 7

Region 4-4A quarterfinal: St. Brendan at Key West, 7

Region 4-2A quarterfinal at Tamiami Park: Redland Christian at Brito, 3

Region 4-2A quarterfinal: Miami Christian at Colonial Christian, 4


District 12 final at Mourning: 7

District 13 at Westland Hialeah – Semifinals: Hialeah vs. Miami High, 3:30; Miami Springs vs. Westland Hialeah, 5; Final: 7

District 14 final at Ransom Everglades: 6:30

District 16 final at Palmetto: 6



Class 2A and 1A state championships at University of North Florida


Regional finals


District 15 final at Sunset: 7