State Colleges

Miami-Dade College loses to Iowa Western CC 17-5 at College World Series

Iowa Western Community College used 11 runs in the final three inning to win its third NJCAA national championship in the past five years 17-5 over Miami Dade College (Fla.) on Friday night in the final game of the Alpine Bank Junior College World Series.

Iowa Western (56-11) started with a three-run second inning, with base hits by Quinn Carpenter and Kaden Moore. After a a hit batter loaded the bases, Alex Krupa drove in two runs with a single to right field. The third run was scored on a sacrifice bunt by Jordan Schlehuber.

The Reivers added three more in the fourth on three hits. Miami Dade (38-17) got right bac into the game, though, cutting the Reivers' lead to one with a five-run fourth inning.

Darren Seferina led off with a single, followed by a Nick Bateman double. Mario Amaral hit an RBI single up the middle to score Seferina. Miami Dade's fourth hit of the inning came from Mandy Alvarez, scoring one. They capped the inning with a Deivy Palmerio home run to right field. After that, it was all Iowa Western, which scored five runs in the seventh and six in the ninth.

Iowa Western has now won three national championships in the past five years (2010, 2012, 2014).

Darren Seferina, INF, Miami Dade, Nick Bateman, OF, Miami Dade, Kyle Carter, P, Miami Dade were named to the all-tournament team.