The Herald's All-Florida Team

With seven in-state universities - enough to form a conference - competing in the Football Bowl Subdivision, the Sunshine State can make an argument as the nation's college football capital. Texas might boast the most FBS programs, but Florida is where the champions call home. UM, FSU and UF have combined to win nine national titles since 1983.

Despite the struggles of the two teams in Miami, 2007 was yet another banner year statewide. There wasn't a national champion this time, but five teams received invitations to postseason bowls and two schools - Central Florida and Florida Atlantic - won conference championships. To recognize the collective success of the state's players, The Miami Herald's college football staff compiled its inaugural All-Florida team.

There were some tough calls, to be sure. Did UF receiver Andre Caldwell belong on the first team? Where do UM lineman Teraz McCray and FSU cornerback Patrick Robinson fit? Check out The Herald's teams.