Election Night Live: Returns and Reactions in South Florida races

Most the results are in from Tuesday’s primary election. Here’s what we know so far:

Broward Supervisor of Elections

Supervisor of Elections Brenda Snipes is well on her way to winning reelection, but even so she’s probably not having the best of evenings. Her website briefly posted elections results before polls closed, violating state law. A vendor took full responsibility for the “inadvertent” error, but Secretary of State Ken Detzner said more than a fine is on the way.

Snipes has not commented.

Miami-Dade County

Mayor Carlos Gimenez won more than 50 percent of absentee ballots, but it looks like he couldn’t take enough of early voting and election day ballots to avoid a November runoff.

In races for county commission, Joe Martinez won his old District 11 seat, and incumbents Bruno Barreiro, Esteban “Steve” Bovo, Audrey Edmonson and Barbara Jordan won reelection unopposed.

U.S. Senate

The Associated Press has called the Republican primary for U.S. Senate for incumbent Marco Rubio (story here.)

Patrick Murphy has also been declared the winner in the Democratic primary (story here.)

The two will face off in November.

U.S. Congress

U.S. Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen of Miami claimed an early victory Tuesday in her Republican primary. (story here.)

In the Democratic primary for District 23, embattled incumbent Debbie Wasserman Schultz held off challenger Tim Canova.

Further south, Joe Garcia eked out a victory over Annette Taddeo in the Democratic primary for District 26.

State Senate

Daphne Campbell beat a crowded field of seven in the Democratic primary for District 38, taking 31 percent of the vote.

Incumbent Dwight Bullard won 48.5 percent of the vote in the Democratic primary for District 40.

Miami Gardens: Mayor Oliver Gilbert won reelection, and more here.

Solar Amendment 4 has passed. Story here.

Miami-Dade School Board: School Board Member Lubby Navarro cruises, and two other races appear headed to a run-off. Story here.

Judicial Races: Four incumbents were headeed for victory Tuesday night. For more click here.