Hollywood reelects Bober as mayor

Hollywood’s commission will see some new faces after Tuesday’s election.

Four out of the five incumbents won against 13 challengers.

Because of recent charter changes to stagger seats, those who win in District 1, 3 and 5 will serve six years, and those who win in Districts 2, 4 and 6 will serve four years.

For the mayors’ seat, incumbent Peter Bober, 39, easily won his seat back over challenger Cliff Germano, a longtime city activist. Bober won by a 2-1 margin with all of the city’s 70 precincts reporting .

“It’s very gratifying,” said Bober, who was first elected as mayor in 2008 and previously served on the commission. “I want to thank the residents who had confidence in me and believed in my message of transparency, reform and accountability.”

Incumbent Patricia Asseff, 65, who was first elected to the commission in 2008, kept her District 1 seat, which covers the eastern portion of the city. Asseff, who was up against challenger Richard Valdez, a first time-candidate, had more than double the votes Valdez received, with all of the precincts counted.

For the District 2 seat Kevin Biederman, 43, easily beat his two challengers. The race — which covers the western portion of the city — was left wide open because Beam Furr chose not to run. Biederman, who has lived in the city for 27 years and has been involved in city boards, secured the seat with about 42 percent of the votes over Judy Bates, 61, and Francisco Vargas, 48, by a hefty margin.

In one of the closest races, challenger Traci Lynn Callari defeated incumbent Heidi O’Sheehan by 4 percentage points. O’Sheehan was elected in 2008 to represent District 3 — which covers the central part of the city. Callari, 42, who had the support of the PBA.

The district 4 race — which covers the north central part of Hollywood — was pretty clear cut Tuesday night with incumbent Dick Blattner, 78, garnering the majority of the votes over newcomer Justin Serian. Blattner, who served on the commission from 1994-2000 and then was appointed in 2007 and has served since, said another term in office will allow him to work on quality-of-life issues.

In the District 5 race, which covers areas west of U.S. 1, incumbent Commissioner Fran Russo did not seek reelection. By late Tuesday, Peter D. Hernandez, 49, who has run twice before unsuccessfully, won the seat over challengers Ralph Kénol, Tim Burton and Carol Lynn Kendall. Hernandez had a little more than a third of the votes, and Kénol was the closest challenger.

In the final race, incumbent Linda Sherwood, 69, earned more than half the votes in the race for District 6 — which covers the southern part of the city. Sherwood faced Edward “Ed” Holodak, 50, and Freddy Suastegui, 29.

This story has been updated since it was initially published.