Miami Gardens - Opa-locka

Seven candidates running for Opa-locka commissioner, mayor

Opa-locka residents will have three choices for mayor and four choices for two City Commission seats in November after the qualifying period for candidates ended last week.

The field will seem familiar to voters — all seven have either served as elected officials or run for positions in the past.

Mayor Myra Taylor, 66, will run for reelection against Commissioner Dorothy Johnson, 63, and former commissioner Rose Tydus, 67.

Commissioner Timothy Holmes will run to retain one of the two commission seats against former vice mayor Terence Pinder, 41, former city clerk Deborah Irby, 63, and Andre Faustin, 56.

With two commission seats available, the two candidates with the most votes will win. Each voter can vote for up to two candidates for commission and one for mayor.

Tydus, Pinder, Irby and Faustin all ran unsuccessfully for commission seats in 2012, losing to current Vice Mayor Joseph Kelley and Commissioner Luis Santiago. Tydus served as a commissioner for 12 years. Pinder was a commission member from 2004 to 2006, when he was arrested and suspended from office for multiple charges, including racketeering and unlawful compensation. He accepted a plea deal to county ordinance violations in the case earlier this year.

Irby served as city clerk for 18 years before she was fired in 2012. Faustin first ran for a commission seat in 2008.

Voters will also decide on a charter amendment to establish term limits for elected officials. Mayors and commissioners serve four-year terms and are not term-limited.