Key Biscayne

Seven in running for Key Biscayne council

Key Biscayne residents will choose among seven candidates this fall for three open seats on the Village Council.

There will be no primary election for Key Biscayne. The election is at-large, meaning the three candidates with the most votes win the seats.

Mayor Frank H. Caplan’s term limit as mayor is up, but he is eligible to run for council. Mayra Peña Lindsay, who is nearing the end of her first term as a council member, was automatically elected mayor when no one else ran for the position.

Village residents will vote for their new council members Nov. 4. The last day to register to vote is Oct. 6.

Twelve residents picked up document packets from the clerk’s office to apply for Village Council. Seven returned the applications before the qualifying period ended Thursday, Aug. 21 at noon:

• Frank H. Caplan, 54, partner at Berger Singerman LLP, a business law firm. He is the current mayor of Key Biscayne.

• Luis F. de la Cruz, 61, managing partner at the law firm of De la Cruz & Cutler LLP.

• Dwight C. Hewett, 54, works at Doran Jason Group of Florida, an industrial and commercial real estate brokerage firm.

• Alex Lipzer, 54, president of Key Biscayne Realty Group.

• Brett Moss, 34, owner of Moss Architecture and Design Group and an adjunct faculty member at Florida International University’s College of Architecture and the Arts.

• H. Frances Reaves, who is in her 50s, is a principal at Latin America Connection, a company that helps small business find partners and export into Mexico, Colombia, Peru and Chile. She declined to give her exact age.

• James Spencer Taintor III, 71, insurance agent for Willis of Florida. He is running for a second term as council member.