Miami-Dade County

Political match-ups set for Miami-Dade commission, property appraiser

Two Miami-Dade County commissioners were automatically reelected Tuesday after drawing no opposition.

Sally Heyman and Rebeca Sosa will each serve another four-year term. No candidates qualified to run against the two by Tuesday’s noon deadline.

Early Tuesday, an opponent qualified against Jose “Pepe” Diaz. The District 12 commissioner, who represents Northwest Miami-Dade, will face political newcomer Marjorie C. Figueira.

Challengers also qualified, as expected, against three other commissioners who will be on the Aug. 26 ballot.

District 8 Commissioner Lynda Bell, who represents South Miami-Dade, will contend with Daniella Levine Cava, the founder and former chief executive of the social services agency Catalyst Miami. Levine Cava has been campaigning since January.

District 2 Commissioner Jean Monestime, who represents North Miami, North Miami Beach and Little Haiti, will face the man he unseated four years ago, former Commissioner Dorrin Rolle, who filed to run in September, as well as pastor Antwane Dwayne Lenoir.

And District 10 Commissioner Javier Souto, who represents West Miami-Dade, will compete against activist Marina Meadows.

The remaining seven commissioners don’t face reelection until 2016.

Five candidates qualified to run for county property appraiser, a seat that became open unexpectedly after Carlos Lopez-Cantera was appointed Florida lieutenant governor. His temporary replacement, Lazaro Solis, is not seeking the job full-time.

Running for property appraiser are Albert Armada, a professional appraiser; Alex Dominguez, a pharmaceutical sales representative; former appraiser Pedro Garcia, who lost to Lopez-Cantera in 2012; Carlos Gobel, a real-estate consultant, and state Rep. Eddy Gonzalez, a Hialeah Republican who is term-limited in Tallahassee.

Both commission seats and the property appraiser are nonpartisan races open to voters from all political party affiliations. Candidates who fail to obtain a majority of the vote in August will head to a Nov. 4 runoff.