La Musa Awards at Fillmore Miami Beach

Thursday night was all about the music and its composers at the 2015 La Musa Awards.

The stage at the Fillmore Miami Beach Jackie Gleason Theater was lit in blue and purple rays shining light on recognized names in the Latin American music industry such as Diego Torres, Fonseca, Alejandra Guzman and Emilio Estefan.

The stars sat in round tables as they raised their glasses and applauded in honor of every name that was called on the stage to receive La Musa (The Muse) award.

“Being on stage with so many people that I admire and have looked up to my whole life: producers, composers, singers that have been such an influence in my life, and being in front of them receiving a recognition means a lot for my career,” said Fonseca who dedicated his award to his wife and named his country, Colombia as one of the inspirations for his music.

La Musa Awards Ceremony is hosted by the Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame, a board of leaders in the Latin American music industry who look to honor and celebrate the lives and careers of some of the world’s greatest Latin songwriters and musicians.

The annual award show serves as an induction gala into the Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame, for those artists who have left a legacy and impacted the Latin music industry through decades of curating, writing and composing music in Spanish or Portuguese.

The Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame, was founded by Grammy Award winner Desmond Child, who in the past has had musical collaborations with Bon Jovi, Aerosmith, Katy Perry, Ricky Martin, Cher and many more. He founded the organization along with songwriter and producer Rudy Perez, who has been in the music industry for over 30 years and has worked with names such as Beyonce, Christina Aguilera, Marc Anthony, and Luis Miguel within others.

“I feel happy. I never thought Desmond [Child] would speak to me and extend an invitation to come and win a Musa award,” said Alejandra Guzman, a Mexican singer and songwriter characterized for her rocker-chick outfits and a free spirited attitude which she never fails to carry on stage during her performances. “I started writing in 2004 with him, when we wrote “Soy,” which we won my first and only Latin Grammy that I have, and he’s a great master. He always told me to write songs and end them with a positive note, and I think that, that is also what I am doing with my life; ending it positively and taking something good out of every bad situation.”

The award show ran for its third consecutive year. The inductees also included Hector Ochoa Cardenas, Emilio Estefan, Myriam Hernandez, Gustavo Santaolalla, Alvaro Torres and Diego Torres. In previous galas, Jose Feliciano, Julio Iglesias and Gloria Estefan have been receivers of the award.