Food & Drink

The problem with this food? The box says 'Gluten Free'

The waffles might not be gluten-free
The waffles might not be gluten-free FDA

Van's Foods recalled 1,584 cases of Van's Gluten Free Waffles on the most basic of packaging screw-ups: The waffles aren't gluten free.

And they have milk, which isn't disclosed on the improper packaging.

As explained in the company-written, FDA-posted recall notice: "The product inadvertently packaged in the Van's Gluten Free Waffle box contains gluten and undeclared milk. People who have an allergy or severe sensitivity to milk or gluten run the risk of serious or life-threatening allergic reaction if they consume these products."

The boxes have lot No. A640234710–WL2 with a best by date of Aug. 22,2018. They went to stores in New York, New Jersey, California, Texas, Pennsylvania, Arkansas, Colorado, Georgia, Illinois, Michigan and Wisconsin.

Consumers who have questions or bought this product and want a refund can call Van's at 866-886-8456.

Wheat has been used for thousands of years as the foundation of our diet. But many Americans have a condition called celiac disease, which is an intolerance to wheat, barley and rye. Its symptoms can be subtle, but if you don't stick to a gluten-f

  Comments