NASCAR - Camping World - Pocono Mountains 150 Preview

07/30/2014 11:55 AM

07/30/2014 12:04 PM

Date: Saturday, Aug. 2

Start Time: 1 p.m. ET

Site: Pocono Raceway -- Long Pond, Pennsylvania

Track: 2.5-mile triangle-shaped track

Laps: 60

Miles: 150

Capacity: 76,812 (Grandstand Seating)

Total purse:


Year: 5th

On TV: FOX Sports 1


On Radio: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio

Race record: Ryan Blaney, 2013 (128.300 mph)

Qualifying record: Nelson Piquet Jr., 2012 (169.504 mph)

2013 Finish

Defending champion: Ryan Blaney

Runner up: Miguel Paludo

Pole winner: Qualifying rained out. Miguel Paludo awarded pole/practice speed

Top 10:

1. Ryan Blaney (Start: 6)

2. Miguel Paludo (1)

3. German Quiroga (4)

4. Joey Coulter (10)

5. Ross Chastain (2)

6. Ron Hornaday Jr (21)

7. Darrell Wallace Jr (5)

8. Matt Crafton (9)

9. Brendan Gaughan (14)

10. Brennan Newberry (22)

Average speed: 128.300 mph

Time of race: 1 hr., 3 min., 8 secs.

Margin of victory: 0.270 secs.

Caution flags: 4 for 10 laps

Lead changes: 9 among 7 drivers

Past winners

2013 Ryan Blaney, Ford, 128.300 mph

2012 Joey Coulter, Chevrolet, 121.523 mph

2011 Kevin Harvick, Chevrolet, 99.582 mph

2010 Elliott Sadler, Chevrolet, 111.966 mph

Last race

Race: 1-800 CAR CASH MudSummer Classic (July 23)

Site: Eldora Speedway -- Rossburg, Ohio

Miles: 75

Laps: 150

Finish line order: Darrell Wallace Jr., Ron Hornaday Jr., Ryan Blaney, Ken Schrader, Ty Dillon

Time of Race: 1 hr., 29 mins., 39 secs.

Average speed: 50.195 mph

Margin of victory: 5.489 secs.

Caution flags: 7 for 33 laps

Lead changes: 5 among 5 drivers

Lap leaders: Jones 1-24, Burton 25-31, Hornaday Jr 32-48, Wallace Jr 49-127, Jones 1-24, Burton 25-31, Hornaday Jr 32-48, Wallace Jr 49-127, Larson 128-132, Wallace Jr 133-150.

Entry list

#0 Caleb Roark (Abingdon, VA) Chevrolet/

#02 Tyler Young (Midland, TX) Chevrolet/RandCo

#3 Austin Dillon (Welcome, NC) Chevrolet/Yuengling Light Lager

#05 John Wes Townley (Watkinsville, GA) Toyota/Zaxby's

#6 Norm Benning (Level Green, PA) Chevrolet/TBA

#07 B.J. McLeod ((Wauchula, FL) Chevrolet/Scuba Life/NASE Worldwide

#08 Ray Black Jr. (Palm Coast, FL) Chevrolet/TBA

#8 Joe Nemechek (Lakeland, FL) Toyota/TBA

#9 Jason White (Richmond, VA) Chevrolet/NTS Motorsports

#10 Jennifer Jo Cobb (Kansas City, KS) Chevrolet/

#13 Jeb Burton (Halifax, VA) Toyota/Estes/Carolina Nut

#17 Timothy Peters (Providence, NC) Toyota/Red Horse Racing

#19 Tyler Reddick (Corning, CA) Ford/Reese Towpower

#20 Justin Lofton (Westmorland, CA) Chevrolet/NTS Motorsports

#21 Joey Coulter (Miami Springs, FL) Chevrolet/Allegiant Travel

#23 Spencer Gallagher (Las Vegas, NV) Chevrolet/Allegiant Travel

#28 Ryan Ellis (Torrance, CA) Chevrolet/FDNY Racing

#29 * Ryan Blaney (High Point, NC) Ford/Cooper Standard

#30 Ron Hornaday Jr. (Palmdale, CA) Chevrolet/Rheem

#31 Ben Kennedy (Daytona Beach, FL) Chevrolet/

#32 Kyle Larson (Elk Grove, CA) Chevrolet/Cartwheel by Target

#35 Mason Mingus (Brentwood, TN) Toyota/Call 811

#40 Todd Peck (Glenville, PA) Chevrolet/Arthritis Foundation

#50 T.J. Bell (Reno, NV) Chevrolet/Fallen Linemen Org.

#51 Erik Jones (Byron, MI) Toyota/Kyle Busch Motorsports

#54 Darrell Wallace Jr. (Mobile, AL) Toyota/Kyle Busch Motorsports

#59 Kyle Martel (Lebanon, PA) Chevrolet/TBA

#63 Justin Jennings (LaGrange, MO) Chevrolet/TBA

#77 German Quiroga (Mexico City, Mexico) Toyota/Otter Box

#88 Matt Crafton (Tulare, CA) Toyota/Menard's/Rip It

#98 Johnny Sauter (Necedah, WI) Toyota/Nextant/Curb Records

#99 Bryan Silas (Stuart, FL) Chevrolet/TBA

Leading contenders

Name 2010 2011 2012 2013
Ryan Blaney Won
German Quiroga 3
Joey Coulter 6 Won 4
Ron Hornaday Jr 29 9 19 6
Darrell Wallace Jr. 7
Matt Crafton 3 8 4 8
Jeb Burton 12
Timothy Peters 8 10 22 14
Johnny Sauter 14 4 27 19
Austin Dillon 7 5
Kyle Larson
Erik Jones


The Pocono Mountains 150 at Pocono Raceway is the 11th race on the 2014 Camping World Truck Series schedule.

This will be the fifth time the Truck Series competes at this unique 2.5-mile triangular-shaped racetrack.

Matt Crafton, the defending series champion, is the only driver who has finished in the top-10 in each of the previous four races at Pocono. Crafton is presently four points behind leader Ryan Blaney, who won this event last year.

Elliott Sadler and Joey Coulter are those drivers who scored their first career truck wins at Pocono. Sadler's victory came in the 2010 inaugural race, driving an entry for Kevin Harvick Inc. Coulter's maiden win occurred in 2012 when he drove for Richard Childress Racing. He is now behind the wheel of the No. 21 truck for GMS Racing.

Only one driver entered in this weekend's race made his truck debut at Pocono: Kyle Martel (2012).

The next race is the Aug. 16 Careers for Veterans 200 at Michigan International Speedway. James Buescher won last year's event there.

Join the Discussion

Miami Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service