Gulliver Prep girls finish second at Westminster Academy invitational

10/13/2013 12:56 AM

10/13/2013 12:17 PM

Even without its No. 2 runner, Gulliver Prep is getting by just fine, thank you.

Despite the temporary setback, Alyssa Pujals and Kaylee Fantis helped pick up some of the slack by finishing 2-9 to help the Raiders finish second in the Westminster Academy Class 1A-2A girls’ team race Saturday.

Pujals finished in 20 minutes 59 seconds, and Fantisin 22:38 as the Raiders build toward the postseason.

“Alyssa is running strong,” Raiders girls’ coach Melissa Sullivan said. “The 20:59 is a great time for this course. It is a slow course with the hills. To break 21 here is very good. We were missing our No. 2, so to finish second overall, our fourth and fifth runners had to hold their own. To get a trophy, we will take it.”

Miami-Dade schools went 6-7-8 behind Palmer Trinity’s Monica Reinhard (21:41), Miami Country Day’s Isabelle Allen (21:45) and Archbishop Curley’s Rhian Romanik (22:17).

Doctor’s Charter’s Josiah McLaughlin was Dade’s top male runner with a third-place finish in 17:27.

Meanwhile, the Class 3A-4A girls’ race saw Mater Academy place three runners in the top eight but get edged 34-36 for the team title by Monarch.

Daniella Ofarrill (third, 22:57), Venus Garcia (fourth, 23:27) and Keyri Murillo (eighth, 24:22) helped Mater post a team average of 24:34.

Mater Academy’s Gilbert Rodriguez finished third in the boys’ 3A-4A race in 17:40.

In the FSU (Pre-State) Invitational Girls’ Elite Invitational at the Apalachee Regional Park, John A. Ferguson’s Katrina Santiago finished ninth in 18:21, the best among Dade runners, to help Ferguson finish fifth.

Miami Belen Jesuit finished a Dade-best second in the boys’ race despite not having a runner in the top 15, but it was Sunset’s Nick Diaz who emerged as Dade’s top individual runner.

Diaz placed fifth in 15:07. Coral Reef’s Kurt Convey finished seventh in 15:23 and Belen’s top finisher was Ryan Rodriguez, who finished sixteenth in 15:33.

John Ferguson placed a Dade-best sixth in the boys’ select race, and Ransom Everglades’ Gabriel Correa finished a Dade-best fourth individually in 16.


Westminster Academy Invitational (Top 10 Dade and Broward finishers): Boys 1A-2A individual results: 1. Joel Lacy (CalvChr) 16:45, 2. Bejarano (WA) 17:10, 3. McLaughlin (DCharter) 17:27, 4. McCracken (WA) 17:47. 5. Guilbert (CalvChr) 17:57, 6. Solis (AH) 18:08, 7. Szklany (HC) 18:13, 8. B. Williams (CM) 18:26, 9. Luke (WA) 18:30, 10. J. Campbell (CalvChr) 18:30. 3A-4A: 2. S. Barrett (BA) 17:39, 3. G. Rodriguez (Mater)17:40, 4. Ambroise (DB) 17:40, 8. Toussaint (BA) 18:14, 10. Baxtar (Mon) 18:36. Girls’ 1A-2A: 1. Carolyn Shields (SFH) 20:57, 2. Pujals (GP) 20:59, 3. Taggart (CalvChr) 21:01, 4. Pinnell (NBP) 21:30, 5. J. Evans (SFH) 21:37, 6. Reinhard (PT) 21:41, 7. I. Allen (MCD) 21:45, 8. Romanik (AC) 22:17, 9. C. Hamilton (WA) 22:32, 10. Fantis (GP) 22:38. 3A-4A: 1. Jade Fungquee (Mon) 21:14, 2. Staton (BA) 22:30, 3. Ofarrill (Mater) 22:57, 4. V. Garcia (Mater) 23:27, 5. Campos (Mon) 23:47, 6. Fajardo (Flan) 23:48, 7. Samuel (CCity) 24:13, 8. Murillo (Mater) 24:22, 9. Noury (Mon) 24:37, 10. Byrd (BA) 24:47. FSU (Pre-State) Invitational: Dade and Broward Top 20 finishers. Girls Elite race – 9. Katrina Santiago (Ferg) 18:21, 11. Tsion Yared (PC) 18:27, 16. Julia Montgomery (PC) 18:34. Girls’ Select: 4. Lauren Archer (RE) 19:22, 17. Lianna Farnesi (Doral) 19:52. Varsity “B” – 6. Caroline Atyeo (Doug) 20:53, 15. Selena Lugo (Doug) 21:50, Boys’ individual results - Boys’ Select: 4. Gabriel Correa (RE) 16:00, 6. Jonathan Klumpp (NBP) 16:07,13. Branden Wolfe (Pace) 16:20, 15. Santiago Saiki (Ferg) 16:27. Varsity “A”: 6. Anthony Ramcharran (Doug) 16:42, 9. Christian Beauchemin (Flan) 16:47, 10. Alex Margetts (Doug) 16:51.

High School Sports Stats

Join the Discussion

Miami Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service