South Florida HEAT girls win Westminster Invitational

10/13/2013 12:57 AM

10/13/2013 12:16 PM

Any questions the South Florida HEAT girls cross-country team has arrived as a Class 1A state contender were put to rest with the HEAT winning its second consecutive invitational title with a different No. 1 runner within a week.

Carolyn Shields won the Westminster Academy Invitational 1A-2A individual title in 20 minutes 57 seconds, and Jenna Evans finished fifth (21:37) to help the HEAT clinch the girls’ team title Saturday.

It followed Evans’ runner-up finish at the Gibbons Invitational, which propelled the HEAT to that team title.

“I wasn’t expecting to win it,” Shields said. “This is very surprising but very good. I just found myself strong going in. I made the right decisions passing girls. I just have to give the glory to God. He really strengthened me.”

Miami Gulliver Prep’s Alyssa Pujals finished second in 20:59 and was followed by Calvary’s Nicole Taggart (21:01) and North Broward Prep’s Katie Pinnell (21:30).

Calvary Christian’s Joel Lacy got the pick-me-up he needed after finishing third in the Cardinal Gibbons meet by pulling away from Westminster Academy’s Brandon Bejarano to win the boys’ 1A-2A title in 16:45.

Unlike the Gibbons meet when Lacy was run down by Pines Charter’s Andrew Iglesias for second place, Lacy took control early and cruised to the victory.

“I feel with the Pines kids racing, it gave me a little bit more of a boost [Saturday],” Lacy said. “They are very tough competitors. I hope I haven’t unleashed my best race yet. You never know how good you are until you are passing out and throwing up at the finish line.”

Bejarano finished second in 17:20 and the Lions went 2-4-9 with Casey McCracken (17:47) and John Luke (18:30) to lead Westminster Academy to the team title.

In the FSU (Pre-State) Invitational Girls’ Elite race, Pine Crest sixth-grader Tsion Yared finished a Broward-best 11th to upstage her teammate Julia Montgomery (16th, 18:34), the reigning Class 2A state champion and St. Thomas Aquinas’ Alexa Cruz (27th, 18:47), the 2012 Class 4A state runner-up.


Westminster Academy Invitational (Top 10 Dade and Broward finishers): Boys 1A-2A individual results: 1. Joel Lacy (CalvChr) 16:45, 2. Bejarano (WA) 17:10, 3. McLaughlin (DCharter) 17:27, 4. McCracken (WA) 17:47. 5. Guilbert (CalvChr) 17:57, 6. Solis (AH) 18:08, 7. Szklany (HC) 18:13, 8. B. Williams (CM) 18:26, 9. Luke (WA) 18:30, 10. J. Campbell (CalvChr) 18:30. 3A-4A: 2. S. Barrett (BA) 17:39, 3. G. Rodriguez (Mater)17:40, 4. Ambroise (DB) 17:40, 8. Toussaint (BA) 18:14, 10. Baxtar (Mon) 18:36. Girls’ 1A-2A: 1. Carolyn Shields (SFH) 20:57, 2. Pujals (GP) 20:59, 3. Taggart (CalvChr) 21:01, 4. Pinnell (NBP) 21:30, 5. J. Evans (SFH) 21:37, 6. Reinhard (PT) 21:41, 7. I. Allen (MCD) 21:45, 8. Romanik (AC) 22:17, 9. C. Hamilton (WA) 22:32, 10. Fantis (GP) 22:38. 3A-4A: 1. Jade Fungquee (Mon) 21:14, 2. Staton (BA) 22:30, 3. Ofarrill (Mater) 22:57, 4. V. Garcia (Mater) 23:27, 5. Campos (Mon) 23:47, 6. Fajardo (Flan) 23:48, 7. Samuel (CCity) 24:13, 8. Murillo (Mater) 24:22, 9. Noury (Mon) 24:37, 10. Byrd (BA) 24:47. FSU (Pre-State) Invitational: Dade and Broward Top 20 finishers. Girls Elite race – 9. Katrina Santiago (Ferg) 18:21, 11. Tsion Yared (PC) 18:27, 16. Julia Montgomery (PC) 18:34. Girls’ Select: 4. Lauren Archer (RE) 19:22, 17. Lianna Farnesi (Doral) 19:52. Varsity “B” – 6. Caroline Atyeo (Doug) 20:53, 15. Selena Lugo (Doug) 21:50, Boys’ individual results - Boys’ Select: 4. Gabriel Correa (RE) 16:00, 6. Jonathan Klumpp (NBP) 16:07,13. Branden Wolfe (Pace) 16:20, 15. Santiago Saiki (Ferg) 16:27. Varsity “A”: 6. Anthony Ramcharran (Doug) 16:42, 9. Christian Beauchemin (Flan) 16:47, 10. Alex Margetts (Doug) 16:51.

High School Sports Stats

Download our HS Sports app

HSS Apple iOS     Android

Join the Discussion

Miami Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service