Formula One - Hungarian Grand Prix Preview


The Sports Network

Date: Sunday, July 27

Start Time: 8 a.m. ET

Site: Hungaroring -- Budapest, Hungary

Track: 4.381 km (2.722 miles), 14-turn road course

Laps: 70

Miles: 190.540 (306.630 km)

Capacity: 100,000+

Total purse:


Year: 29th



On Radio:

Race record: Michael Schumacher, 2004 (1 hr., 35 mins., 26.131 secs.)

Qualifying record: Rubens Barrichello, 2002 (1 min., 13.333 secs.)

2013 Finish

Defending champion: Lewis Hamilton

Runner up: Kimi Raikkonen

Pole winner: Lewis Hamilton (1:19.388)

Top 10:

1. Lewis Hamilton (Start: 1)

2. Kimi Raikkonen (6)

3. Sebastian Vettel (2)

4. Mark Webber (10)

5. Fernando Alonso (5)

6. Romain Grosjean (3)

7. Jenson Button (13)

8. Felipe Massa (7)

9. Sergio Perez (9)

10. Pastor Maldonado (15)

Average speed: 179.506 kph

Time of race: 1 hr., 42 mins., 29.445 secs.

Margin of victory: 10.938 secs.

Caution flags:

Lead changes:

Past winners

2013 Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes, 179.506 kph/1:42:29.445

2012 Lewis Hamilton, McLaren-Mercedes, 179.390 kph/1:41:05.503

2011 Jenson Button, McLaren-Mercedes, 172.416 kph/1:46:42.337

2010 Mark Webber, Red Bull Renault, 181.989 kph/1:41:5.571

2009 Lewis Hamilton, McLaren-Mercedes, 186.973 kph/1:38:23.876

2008 Heikki Kovalainen, McLaren-Mercedes, 188.790 kph/1:37:27.067

2007 Lewis Hamilton, McLaren-Mercedes, 191.897 kph/1:35:52.991

2006 Jenson Button, Honda, 163.773 kph/1:52:20.941

2005 Kimi Raikkonen, McLaren-Mercedes, 188.859 kph/1:37:25.552

2004 Michael Schumacher, Ferrari, 192.798 kph/1:35:26.131

2003 Fernando Alonso, Renault, 185.810 kph/1:39:01.460

2002 Rubens Barrichello, Ferrari, 1:41:49.001

2001 Michael Schumacher, Ferrari, 1:41:49.675

2000 Mika Hakkinen, McLaren-Mercedes, 1:45:33.869

1999 Mika Hakkinen, McLaren-Mercedes, 1:46:23.536

1998 Michael Schumacher, Ferrari, 1:45:25.550

1997 Jacques Villeneuve, Williams-Renault, 1:45:47.149

1996 Jacques Villeneuve, Williams-Renault, 1:46:21.134

1995 Damon Hill, Williams-Renault, 1:46:25.721

1994 Michael Schumacher, Benetton-Ford, 1:48:00.185

1993 Damon Hill, Williams-Renault, 1:47:39.09

1992 Ayrton Senna, McLaren-Honda, 1:46:19.216

1991 Ayrton Senna, McLaren-Honda, 1:49:12.796

1990 Thierry Boutsen, Williams-Renault, 1:49:30.597

1989 Nigel Mansell, Ferrari, 1:49:38.650

1988 Ayrton Senna, McLaren-Honda, 1:57:47.081

1987 Nelson Piquet, Williams-Honda, 1:59:26.793

1986 Nelson Piquet, Williams-Honda, 2:00:34.508

Last race

Race: German Grand Prix (July 20)

Site: Hockenheimring -- Hockenheim, Germany

Miles: 190.4 (306.458 km)

Laps: 67

Finish line order: Nico Rosberg, Valtteri Bottas, Lewis Hamilton, Sebastian Vettel, Fernando Alonso

Time of Race: 1 hr., 33 mins., 42.914 secs.

Average speed: 196.205 kph

Margin of victory: 20.789 secs.

Caution flags:

Lead changes:

Lap leaders:

Entry list

#1 Sebastian Vettel (Heppenheim, Germ) Red Bull Racing-Renault

#3 Daniel Ricciardo (Perth, Australia) Red Bull Racing-Renault

#4 Jules Bianchi (Nice, France) Marussia-Ferrari

#6 Nico Rosberg (Wiesbaden, Germany) Mercedes

#7 Kimi Raikkonen (Espoo, Finland) Ferrari

#8 Romain Grosjean (Geneva,Switzerland) Lotus-Renault

#9 Marcus Ericsson (Kumla, Sweden) Caterham-Renault

#10 Kamui Kobayashi (Hyogo, Japan) Caterham-Renault

#11 Sergio Perez (Guadalajara, Mexico) Force India-Mercedes

#13 Pastor Maldonado (Maracay,Venezuela) Lotus-Renault

#14 Fernando Alonso (Oviedo, Spain) Ferrari

#17 Jules Bianchi (Nice, France) Marussia-Ferrari

#19 Felipe Massa (Sao Paulo, Brazil) Williams-Mercedes

#20 Kevin Magnussen (Roskilde, Denmark) McLaren-Mercedes

#21 Esteban Gutierrez (Monterrey, Mexico Sauber-Ferrari

#22 Jenson Button (Frome, England) McLaren-Mercedes

#25 Jean-Eric Vergne (Pontoise, France) Toro Rosso-Renault

#26 Daniil Kvyat (Bashkortostan, Russia) Toro Rosso-Renault

#27 Nico Hulkenberg (Emmerich, Germany) Force India-Mercedes

#44 * Lewis Hamilton (Stevenage, England) Mercedes

#77 Valtteri Bottas (Nastola, Finland) Williams-Mercedes

#99 Adrian Sutil (Starnberg, Germany) Sauber-Ferrari

Leading contenders

Name 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013
Lewis Hamilton Won 5 Won Ret 4 Won Won
Kimi Raikkonen Won Ret 2 3 2 2 2
Sebastian Vettel 16 Ret Ret 3 2 4 3
Fernando Alonso 11 Ret 4 4 Ret 2 3 5 5
Jenson Button 5 Won Ret 12 7 8 Won 6 7
Felipe Massa 14 7 13 17 4 6 9 8
Daniel Ricciardo 18 15 13
Nico Rosberg Ret 7 14 4 Ret 9 10 19
Valtteri Bottas Ret


The Hungarian Grand Prix at Hungaroring is the 11th round on the 2014 Formula One calendar.

There have been 28 previous Hungarian GPs, and all of them have been contested on the Hungaroring circuit. Monza (Italian Grand Prix) and Monte Carlo (Monaco Grand Prix) are the only circuits with a longer run of consecutive races.

Michael Schumacher and Lewis Hamilton share the record for most victories in the Hungarian GP with four each. Hamilton has won this race the past two years.

McLaren leads all constructors with 11 victories in the Hungarian GP. Williams is next in line with seven wins, followed by Ferrari with five. McLaren has won six of the last nine races in Hungary.

Fernando Alonso set the record as the youngest driver to win a F1 grand prix when he took the checkered flag in Hungary in 2003. Driving for Renault, Alonso's maiden F1 victory came when he was 22 years and 26 days old. Sebastian Vettel surpassed that record five years later when he won the Italian Grand Prix at the age of 21 years and 73 days old. Vettel drove for Toro Rosso in 2008.

Damon Hill also scored his first career F1 victory in the Hungarian GP in 1993, driving for Williams. Hill became the first son of a former world champion (Graham Hill) to win a grand prix.

Jenson Button's victory in the 2006 Hungarian GP -- the first win of his F1 career -- came from the 14th starting position, which is the furthest back a driver has started and won this event. Button drove for Honda that year. Nigel Mansell claimed the victory in the Hungarian GP from the 12th starting spot in 1989, driving for Ferrari. All other Hungarian GPs have been won from a starting position no worse than fourth.

Hamilton's win in the 2009 Hungarian GP was the first F1 victory for a car equipped with a Kinetic Energy Recovery System (KERS). He drove for McLaren at the time.

Four-time F1 world champion Sebastian Vettel has yet to win the Hungarian GP. Prior to 2014, during his first five seasons as a Red Bull driver, Vettel claimed at least one victory in every other country to host a grand prix.

F1 takes a three-week "summer vacation" before round 12 in this year's world championship, which will be on Aug.24 with the Belgian Grand Prix in Spa, Belgium. Vettel won last year's race there, beginning a record-tying streak of nine victories to finish the 2013 season.

Read more Open Wheel stories from the Miami Herald

Miami Herald

Join the

The Miami Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Miami Herald uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here.

Have a news tip? You can send it anonymously. Click here to send us your tip - or - consider joining the Public Insight Network and become a source for The Miami Herald and el Nuevo Herald.

Hide Comments

This affects comments on all stories.

Cancel OK

  • Marketplace

Today's Circulars

  • Quick Job Search

Enter Keyword(s) Enter City Select a State Select a Category