NASCAR - Nationwide - 300 Preview


The Sports Network

Date: Saturday, July 19

Start Time: 8:30 p.m. (ET)

Site: Chicagoland Speedway -- Joliet, Illinois

Track: 1.5-mile oval

Laps: 200

Miles: 300

Capacity: 70,000 (Grandstand Seating)

Total purse:


Year: 4th



On Radio: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio

Race record: Brad Keselowski, 2011 (148.637 mph)

Qualifying record: Ryan Newman, 2005 (186.438 mph)

2013 Finish

Defending champion: Joey Logano (not defending)

Runner up: Sam Hornish Jr.

Pole winner: Sam Hornish Jr. (178.341 mph)

Top 10:

1. Joey Logano (Start: 7)

2. Sam Hornish Jr (1)

3. Austin Dillon (3)

4. Elliott Sadler (2)

5. Brian Vickers (6)

6. Parker Kligerman (10)

7. Trevor Bayne (8)

8. Justin Allgaier (16)

9. Brad Sweet (12)

10. Matt Crafton (4)

Average speed: 125.684 mph

Time of race: 2 hrs., 23 mins., 13 secs.

Margin of victory: 0.291 secs.

Caution flags: 6 for 32 laps

Lead changes: 12 among 5 drivers

Past winners

2013 Joey Logano, Ford, 125.684 mph

2012 Elliott Sadler, Chevrolet, 130.929 mph

2011 Justin Allgaier, Chevrolet, 141.807 mph

Last race

Race: Sta-Green 200 (July 12)

Site: New Hampshire Motor Speedway -- Loudon, New Hampshire

Miles: 211.6

Laps: 200

Finish line order: Brad Keselowski, Kyle Busch, Matt Kenseth, Kyle Larson, Chris Buescher

Time of Race: 2 hrs., 0 min., 41 secs.

Average speed: 105.201 mph

Margin of victory: 1.880 secs.

Caution flags: 6 for 27 laps

Lead changes:

Lap leaders: Keselowski-pole, K. Busch 1-34, Keselowski 35-106, Larson Keselowski-pole, K. Busch 1-34, Keselowski 35-106, Larson 107-111, Keselowski 112, Larson 113-118, Keselowski 119-141, Buescher 142-144, Keselowski 145-200.

Entry list

#01 Landon Cassill (Fairfax, IA) Chevrolet/

#2 Brian Scott (Boise, ID) Chevrolet/Shore Lodge

#3 Ty Dillon (Welcome, NC) Chevrolet/Red Kap

#4 Jeffrey Earnhardt (Mooresville, NC) Chevrolet/

#5 Kasey Kahne (Enumclaw, WA) Chevrolet/Great Clips

#6 Trevor Bayne (Knoxville, TN) Ford/AdvoCare

#7 Regan Smith (Cato, NY) Chevrolet/

#9 Chase Elliott (Dawsonville, GA) Chevrolet/NAPA Auto Parts

#10 Blake Koch (West Palm Beach, FL) Toyota/

#11 Elliott Sadler (Emporia, VA) Toyota/One Main Financial

#13 Carl Long (Roxboro, NC) Toyota/Headrush

#14 Eric McClure (Chilhowie, VA) Toyota/Hefty/Reynolds Wrap

#16 Ryan Reed (Bakersfield, CA) Ford/American Diabetes Assoc.

#17 Tanner Berryhill (Bixby, OK) Dodge/

#19 Mike Bliss (Milwaukie, OR) Toyota/TriStar Motorsports

#20 Erik Jones (Byron, MI) Toyota/Narcolepsy Link

#22 Ryan Blaney (High Point, NC) Ford/Hertz

#23 Robert Richardson Jr. (McKinney, TX) Chevrolet/Comboard

#25 John Wes Townley (Watkinsville, GA) Toyota/Zaxby's

#28 J.J. Yeley (Phoenix, AZ) Dodge/JGL Racing

#31 Dylan Kwasniewski (Las Vegas, NV) Chevrolet/AccuDoc Solutions

#33 Cale Conley (Vienna, WV) Chevrolet/IAVA

#39 Ryan Sieg (Tucker, GA) Chevrolet/RSS Racing

#40 Josh Wise (Riverside, CA) Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing

#42 Kyle Larson (Elk Grove, CA) Chevrolet/Cartwheel by Target

#43 Dakoda Armstrong (New Castle, IN) Ford/WinField

#44 David Starr (Houston, TX) Toyota/Plan B Sales

#46 Matt DiBenedetto (Grass Valley, CA) Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing

#51 Jeremy Clements (Spartanburg, SC) Chevrolet/

#52 Joey Gase (Cedar Rapids, IA) Chevrolet/TBA

#54 Sam Hornish Jr. (Defiance, OH) Toyota/Monster Energy

#55 Jamie Dick (Albuquerque, NM) Chevrolet/Viva Auto Group

#60 Chris Buescher (Prosper, TX) Ford/Roush Fenway Racing

#62 Brendan Gaughan (Las Vegas, NV) Chevrolet/South Point

#70 Derrike Cope (Spanaway, WA) Chevrolet/Youtheory

#72 To Be Announced Chevrolet/Crash Claims R US

#74 Mike Harmon (Birmingport, AL) Dodge/TBA

#84 Chad Boat (Phoenix, AZ) Chevrolet/Billy Boat Performance

#87 Joe Nemechek (Lakeland, FL) Chevrolet/TBA

#93 Mike Wallace (St. Louis, MO) Dodge/JGL Racing

#99 James Buescher (Plano, TX) Toyota/Rheem

Leading contenders

Name 2011 2012 2013
Sam Hornish Jr 8 2
Elliot Sadler 11 Won 4
Trevor Bayne 3 7
Brian Scott 17 11 11
Kyle Larson 12
Regan Smith 13
Kasey Kahne
Chase Elliott
Ty Dillon
Ryan Blaney


The 300 at Chicagoland Speedway is the 18th race on the 2014 Nationwide Series schedule.

Chicagoland Speedway, a 1.5-mile racetrack, has 18 degrees of banking in all of its turns as well as 11 degrees of banking on the tri-oval and 5 degrees on the backstretch. The length of the frontstretch is 2,400 feet, and the backstretch measures 1,700 feet.

Construction of this racetrack, which is located roughly 40 miles southwest of downtown Chicago, began in August 1999. The first Nationwide race there, the Sam's Club 300, was held on July 14, 2001 and won by Jimmie Johnson.

There have been 16 Nationwide races held at Chicagoland, including one event per season from 2001-10 and then two each year since then.

Kyle Busch holds the record for most Nationwide wins at Chicagoland with three. Busch's most recent victory there came last September. Kevin Harvick and Joey Logano have won there twice. None of those drivers are on the entry list for this race.

Richard Childress and Joe Gibbs share the record for most car owner wins in Nationwide races at Chicagoland with four each.

Last September, Busch became the first driver to win a Nationwide race from the pole position at Chicagoland.

The furthest back a driver has started and won an event in the series there is 34th, accomplished by Justin Labonte, who is the son of two-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Terry Labonte.

The closest margin of victory in a Nationwide race at Chicagoland occurred one year ago when Logano beat Sam Hornish Jr. to the finish line by just 0.291 seconds.

Three drivers posted their first career Nationwide victories at Chicagoland: Johnson (2001), Johnny Sauter (2002) and Casey Mears (2006). None of those drivers are entered in this race.

Only one driver on the entry list scored his maiden pole in the series at Chicagoland: Brian Scott (September 2011).

The next race is the July 26 Lilly Diabetes 250 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Kyle Busch won last year's event there.

Read more Nationwide Series stories from the Miami Herald

Miami Herald

Join the

The Miami Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Miami Herald uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here.

Have a news tip? You can send it anonymously. Click here to send us your tip - or - consider joining the Public Insight Network and become a source for The Miami Herald and el Nuevo Herald.

Hide Comments

This affects comments on all stories.

Cancel OK

  • Marketplace

Today's Circulars

  • Quick Job Search

Enter Keyword(s) Enter City Select a State Select a Category