Verizon IndyCar Series - Iowa Corn Indy 300 Preview


The Sports Network

Date: Saturday, July 12

Start Time: 8:50 p.m. ET (expected green flag)

Site: Iowa Speedway -- Newton, Iowa

Track: 0.875-mile oval

Laps: 300

Miles: 262.5

Capacity: 30,000+ (Grandstand Seating)

Total purse:


Year: 8th

On TV: NBC Sports Network


On Radio: IMS Radio Network/SIRIUS XM Satellite

Race record: James Hinchcliffe, 2013 (148.559 mph/1 hr., 30 mins., 16 secs.)

Qualifying record: Takuma Sato, 2011 (180.375 mph - two-lap average)

2013 Finish

Defending champion: James Hinchcliffe

Runner up: Ryan Hunter-Reay

Pole winner: Helio Castroneves (Winner of Heat Race 3)

Top 10:

1. James Hinchcliffe (Start: 2)

2. Ryan Hunter-Reay (12)

3. Tony Kanaan (5)

4. Ed Carpenter (4)

5. Graham Rahal (6)

6. Simon Pagenaud (8)

7. Oriol Servia (7)

8. Helio Castroneves (1)

9. Marco Andretti (3)

10. EJ Viso (16)

Average speed: 148.559 mph

Time of race: 1 hr., 30 mins., 16.0266 secs.

Margin of victory: 1.5009 secs.

Caution flags: 3 for 29 laps

Lead changes: 7 among 4 drivers

Past winners

2013 James Hinchcliffe, Dallara-Chevrolet, 148.559 mph

2012 Ryan Hunter-Reay, Dallara-Honda, 129.371 mph

2011 Marco Andretti, Dallara-Honda, 118.671 mph

2010 Tony Kanaan, Dallara-Honda, 131.205 mph

2009 Dario Franchitti, Dallara-Honda, 134.371 mph

2008 Dan Wheldon, Dallara-Honda, 136.007 mph

2007 Dario Franchitti, Dallara-Honda, 123.896 mph

Last race

Race: Pocono INDYCAR 500

Site: Pocono Raceway -- Long Pond, Pennsylvania

Miles: 500

Laps: 200

Finish line order: Juan Pablo Montoya, Helio Castroneves, Carlos Munoz, Ryan Briscoe, Scott Dixon

Time of Race: 2 hrs., 28 mins., 13.1798 secs.

Average speed: 202.402 mph

Margin of victory: 2.3403 secs.

Caution flags: 1 for 6 laps

Lead changes: 16 among 5 drivers

Lap leaders: Juan Pablo Montoya - pole; Will Power 1-30; Montoya 31-32; Power Juan Pablo Montoya - pole; Will Power 1-30; Montoya 31-32; Power 33-49; Tony Kanaan 50-58; Power 59-61; Montoya 62-64; Kanaan 65-87; Montoya 88-94; Kanaan 95-117; Montoya 118-125; Sebastien Bourdais 126; Kanaan 127-147; Power 148-166; Montoya 167-187; Josef Newgarden 188-194; Kanaan 195-196; Montoya 197-200.

Entry list

#2 Juan Pablo Montoya (Bogota, Colombia Chevrolet/Team Penske

#3 Helio Castroneves (Sao Paulo, Brazil Chevrolet/Team Penske

#7 Mikhail Aleshin (Moscow, Russia) Honda/Schmidt Peterson Motorsports

#8 Ryan Briscoe (Sydney, Australia) Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing

#9 Scott Dixon (Auckland, New Zealand) Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing

#10 Tony Kanaan (Salvador, Brazil) Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing

#11 Sebastien Bourdais (Le Mans, France) Chevrolet/KVSH Racing

#12 Will Power (Toowoomba, Australia) Chevrolet/Team Penske

#14 Takuma Sato (Tokyo, Japan) Honda/A.J. Foyt Enterprises

#15 Graham Rahal (New Albany, OH) Honda/Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

#17 Sebastian Saavedra (Bogota, Colombia Chevrolet/KVAFS Racing

#18 Carlos Huertas (Bogota, Colombia) Honda/Dale Coyne Racing

#19 Justin Wilson (Sheffield, England) Honda/Dale Coyne Racing

#20 Ed Carpenter (Indianapolis, IN) Chevrolet/Ed Carpenter Racing

#25 Marco Andretti (Nazareth, PA) Honda/Andretti Autosport

#27 * James Hinchcliffe (Toronto, Canada) Honda/Andretti Autosport

#28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Ft. Lauderdale, FL Honda/Andretti Autosport

#34 Carlos Munoz (Bogota, Colombia) Honda/Andretti-HVM

#67 Josef Newgarden (Hendersonville, TN) Honda/Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing

#77 Simon Pagenaud (Montmorillon, France Honda/Schmidt Peterson Hamilton

#83 Charlie Kimball (Camarillo, CA) Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing

#99 Jack Hawksworth (Bradford, England) Honda/BHA/BBM

Leading contenders

Name 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013
James Hinchcliffe 9 17 Won
Ryan Hunter-Reay 8 19 8 8 Won 2
Tony Kanaan 16 18 14 Won 2 3 3
Ed Carpenter 6 23 10 11 8 4
Graham Rahal 10 11 9 15 9 5
Simon Pagenaud 5 6
Helio Castroneves 8 14 7 2 7 6 8
Marco Andretti 2 3 12 15 Won 2 9
Justin Wilson 12 18 24 12 10 11
Charlie Kimball 22 11 12
Sebastien Bourdais 14
Josef Newgarden 19 15
Scott Dixon 10 4 5 6 3 4 16
Will Power 9 5 21 23 17
Sebastian Saavedra 20 19
Takuma Sato 19 19 12 23
Ryan Briscoe 7 2 4 6 18
Juan Pablo Montoya
Carlos Munoz
Carlos Huertas
Mikhail Aleshin
Jack Hawksworth


The Iowa Corn Indy 300 at Iowa Speedway is the 12th race on the 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series schedule.

Built in 2006, Iowa Speedway has progressive banking from 12-14 degrees in all of its turns. There are 10 degrees of banking on the frontstretch and four degrees on the backstretch. The length of the frontstretch is 1,075 feet, and the backstretch measures 869 feet.

Andretti Autosport has won five of the seven IndyCar races at Iowa, including the last four (Tony Kanaan 2010, Marco Andretti 2011, Ryan Hunter-Reay 2012 and James Hinchcliffe 2013). Chip Ganassi Racing has two victories there (Dan Wheldon 2008 and Dario Franchitti 2009). Franchitti won the inaugural race at this track in 2007 when he drove for Michael Andretti's team (then known as Andretti Green Racing).

Team Penske has yet to win an IndyCar race at Iowa but has scored three poles at this track, most recently with Helio Castroneves in 2013.

No driver has won an IndyCar race from the pole at Iowa.

Four drivers have competed in all seven races at Iowa - Scott Dixon, Andretti, Castroneves and Kanaan.

Dixon leads all drivers with six top-10 finishes but has placed no better than third at this track.

Franchitti and Hunter-Reay are those drivers who won at Iowa and went on to capture the IndyCar championship in the same season. Franchitti accomplished the feat twice (2007 and '09), and Hunter-Reay did it in 2012.

The Iowa Corn Indy 300 will be the fourth race on an oval in 2014. There have been three different winners in as many oval races this season: Ryan Hunter- Reay (Indianapolis 500), Ed Carpenter (Texas), Juan Pablo Montoya (Pocono).

IndyCar's third and final weekend doubleheader this season takes place July 19-20 on the streets of Toronto. Race 1 of the Honda Indy Toronto is scheduled for Saturday, and Race 2 is slated for Sunday. Scott Dixon scored a weekend- sweep there last year.

Read more Open Wheel stories from the Miami Herald

  • FIA confirms 20-race calendar for F1 in 2015

    Formula One's governing body, the FIA, confirmed its calendar for the 2015 Formula One world championship season, which includes a record-matching 20 races and the return of the Mexico Grand Prix.

  • F1 legend Schumacher out of hospital

    Seven-time Formula One champion Michael Schumacher has returned home after a nine-month hospital stay caused by a near-fatal skiing accident, his manager announced in a statement released Tuesday.

  • Hamilton benefits from Rosberg's mishap to win Italian GP

    Lewis Hamilton bounced back from a poor start and then capitalized from a mistake made by his Mercedes teammate and championship rival Nico Rosberg to win Sunday's Italian Grand Prix.

Miami Herald

Join the

The Miami Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Miami Herald uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here.

Have a news tip? You can send it anonymously. Click here to send us your tip - or - consider joining the Public Insight Network and become a source for The Miami Herald and el Nuevo Herald.

Hide Comments

This affects comments on all stories.

Cancel OK

  • Marketplace

Today's Circulars

  • Quick Job Search

Enter Keyword(s) Enter City Select a State Select a Category