NASCAR - Nationwide - Subway Firecracker 250 Preview


The Sports Network

Date: Friday, July 4

Start Time: 7:30 p.m. ET

Site: Daytona International Speedway -- Daytona Beach, Florida

Track: 2.5-mile tri-oval

Laps: 100

Miles: 250

Capacity: 146,000 (Grandstand Seating)

Total purse:


Year: 13th



On Radio: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio

Race record:

Qualifying record: Tommy Houston, 1987 (194.389 mph)

2013 Finish

Defending champion: Matt Kenseth (not defending)

Runner up: James Buescher

Pole winner: Austin Dillon (178.934 mph)

Top 10:

1. Matt Kenseth (Start: 19)

2. James Buescher (17)

3. Elliott Sadler (9)

4. Kurt Busch (7)

5. Austin Dillon (1)

6. Kyle Larson (13)

7. Sam Hornish Jr (5)

8. Regan Smith (11)

9. Joey Logano (14)

10. Trevor Bayne (8)

Average speed: 145.767 mph

Time of race: 1 hr., 43 mins., 56 secs.

Margin of victory: 0.189 secs.

Caution flags: 4 for 16 laps

Lead changes: 31 among 14 drivers

Past winners

2013 Matt Kenseth, Toyota, 145.767 mph

2012 Kurt Busch, Chevrolet, 132.045 mph

2011 Joey Logano, Toyota, 136.426 mph

2010 Dale Earnhardt Jr, Chevrolet, 146.248 mph

2009 Clint Bowyer, Chevrolet, 122.924 mph

2008 Denny Hamlin, Toyota, 155.761 mph

2007 Kyle Busch, Chevrolet, 139.091 mph

2006 Dale Earnhardt Jr, Chevrolet, 133.343 mph

2005 Martin Truex Jr, Chevrolet, 140.141 mph

2004 Mike Wallace, Ford, 135.014 mph

2003 Dale Earnhardt Jr, Chevrolet, 153.715 mph

2002 Joe Nemechek, Chevrolet, 125.892 mph

Last race

Race: John R. Elliott HERO Campaign 300 (June 27)

Site: Kentucky Speedway -- Sparta, Kentucky

Miles: 300

Laps: 200

Finish line order: Kevin Harvick, Brad Keselowski, Kyle Busch, Paul Menard, Ryan Blaney

Time of Race: 2 hrs., 15 mins., 33 secs.

Average speed: 132.792 mph

Margin of victory: 0.928 secs.

Caution flags: 7 for 30 laps

Lead changes:

Lap leaders: Keselowski 1-43, Menard 44-47, Keselowski 48-83, Sadler 84-87, Keselowski 1-43, Menard 44-47, Keselowski 48-83, Sadler 84-87, Smith 88-89, Keselowski 90-148, Harvick 149-157, K. Busch 158-195, Harvick 196-200.

Entry list

#01 Landon Cassill (Fairfax, IA) Chevrolet/Flex Seal

#2 Brian Scott (Boise, ID) Chevrolet/Shore Lodge

#3 Ty Dillon (Welcome, NC) Chevrolet/Yuengling Brewery

#4 Jeffrey Earnhardt (Mooresville, NC) Chevrolet/

#5 Kasey Kahne (Enumclaw, WA) Chevrolet/Hellmann's

#6 Trevor Bayne (Knoxville, TN) Ford/AdvoCare

#7 Regan Smith (Cato, NY) Chevrolet/Goody's

#9 Chase Elliott (Dawsonville, GA) Chevrolet/NAPA Auto Parts

#10 Blake Koch (West Palm Beach, FL) Toyota/Celsius Cola

#11 Elliott Sadler (Emporia, VA) Toyota/Sports Clips

#14 Eric McClure (Chilhowie, VA) Toyota/Hefty/Reynolds Wrap

#16 Ryan Reed (Bakersfield, CA) Ford/American Diabetes Assoc.

#17 Tanner Berryhill (Bixby, OK) Dodge/

#19 Mike Bliss (Milwaukie, OR) Toyota/TriStar Motorsports

#20 Darrell Wallace Jr. (Mobile, AL) Toyota/Share a Coke

#22 Joey Logano (Middletown, CT) Ford/Discount Tire

#23 Robert Richardson Jr. (McKinney, TX) Chevrolet/Comboard

#25 John Wes Townley (Watkinsville, GA) Toyota/Zaxby's

#28 J.J. Yeley (Phoenix, AZ) Dodge/Texas 28 Spirits Stage

#29 Scott Lagasse Jr. (St. Augustine, FL Toyota/Fla. Dept. of Transportation

#31 Dylan Kwasniewski (Las Vegas, NV) Chevrolet/Rockstar

#39 Ryan Sieg (Tucker, GA) Chevrolet/RSS Racing

#40 Josh Wise (Riverside, CA) Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing

#42 Kyle Larson (Elk Grove, CA) Chevrolet/Target Ticket

#43 Dakoda Armstrong (New Castle, IN) Ford/Fresh From Florida

#44 David Starr (Houston, TX) Toyota/Chasco Constructors

#46 Matt DiBenedetto (Grass Valley, CA) Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing

#51 Jeremy Clements (Spartanburg, SC) Chevrolet/

#52 Joey Gase (Cedar Rapids, IA) Chevrolet/TBA

#54 Kyle Busch (Las Vegas, NV) Toyota/Monster Energy

#55 Ross Chastain (Alva, FL) Chevrolet/

#60 Chris Buescher (Prosper, TX) Ford/Roush Performance

#62 Brendan Gaughan (Las Vegas, NV) Chevrolet/South Point

#70 Derrike Cope (Spanaway, WA) Chevrolet/Youtheory

#74 Mike Harmon (Birmingport, AL) Dodge/TBA

#76 Tommy Joe Martins (Como, MS) Dodge/Cross Concrete Construction

#80 Johnny Sauter (Necedah, WI) Toyota/TBA

#84 Chad Boat (Phoenix, AZ) Chevrolet/Billy Boat Performance

#85 Bobby Gerhart (Lebanon, PA) Chevrolet/Lucas Oil

#87 Carlos Contreras (Mexico City) Toyota/TBA

#91 Benny Gordon (DuBois, PA) Toyota/BWP Baseball Bats

#93 Mike Wallace (St. Louis, MO) Dodge/JGL Racing

#97 Joe Nemechek (Lakeland, FL) Toyota/TBA

#98 David Ragan (Unadilla, GA) Ford/Carroll Shelby Engine Co.

#99 James Buescher (Plano, TX) Toyota/Rheem

Leading contenders

Name 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013
Elliott Sadler 8 6 3
Kyle Larson 6
Regan Smith 19 15 29 8
Joey Logano 4 2 Won 5 9
Trevor Bayne 27 22 10
Kyle Busch 27 16 Won 2 2 7 4 23 11
Brian Scott 30 12 32 17
Ty Dillon 27
Kasey Kahne 25 35 6 6 5 9
Chase Elliott


The Subway Firecracker 250 at Daytona International Speedway is the 16th race on 2014 Nationwide Series schedule.

There have been 45 Nationwide races held at Daytona, including one event per season from 1982-2001 and two each year since then. The series' season-opener has been held at this racetrack each year since '82.

Tony Stewart and Dale Earnhardt share the record for most Nationwide victories at Daytona with seven each.

Earnhardt won the inaugural Nationwide race at Daytona, the Goody's 300, on Feb. 13, 1982.

Joe Nemechek has won the pole for five Nationwide races at Daytona, which is more than any other driver. Nemechek won the first July Nationwide event at Daytona from that position in 2002. Clint Bowyer is the last driver to win a race from the pole at this track, doing so in July 2009.

Since NASCAR began using electronic timing and scoring in 1993, the closest margin of victory in a Nationwide race at Daytona occurred on Feb. 19, 2011. Stewart nipped Bowyer to the finish line by only 0.007 seconds. The largest margin of victory for a Nationwide event there happened on Feb. 17 2007 when Kevin Harvick beat Dave Blaney to the line by just 0.460 seconds.

James Buescher (February 2012) and Stewart (February 2005) scored their first career Nationwide wins at Daytona. Both drivers are not entered in Friday's race.

Three drivers on the entry list made their first career Nationwide starts at Daytona in February -- Chad Boat, Chase Elliott and Dylan Kwasniewski, who won the pole for the season-opener. Kyle Larson (February 2013) and Robert Richardson Jr. (February 2007) also made there series debuts at this track.

The next race is the July 12 Sta-Green 200 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. Kyle Busch won last year's event there.

Read more Nationwide Series stories from the Miami Herald

Miami Herald

Join the

The Miami Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Miami Herald uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here.

Have a news tip? You can send it anonymously. Click here to send us your tip - or - consider joining the Public Insight Network and become a source for The Miami Herald and el Nuevo Herald.

Hide Comments

This affects comments on all stories.

Cancel OK

  • Marketplace

Today's Circulars

  • Quick Job Search

Enter Keyword(s) Enter City Select a State Select a Category