NASCAR - Nationwide - John R. Elliott HERO Campaign 300 Preview


The Sports Network

Date: Friday, June 27

Start Time: 7:30 p.m. ET

Site: Kentucky Speedway -- Sparta, Kentucky

Track: 1.5-mile oval

Laps: 200

Miles: 300

Capacity: 107,000 (Grandstand seating)

Total purse:


Year: 14th



On Radio: Performance Racing Network (PRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio

Race record: Austin Dillon, 2012 (151.643 mph)

Qualifying record: Carl Edwards, 2005 (181.287 mph)

2013 Finish

Defending champion: Brad Keselowski

Runner up: Elliott Sadler

Pole winner: Austin Dillon (175.758 mph)

Top 10:

1. Brad Keselowski (Start: 19)

2. Elliott Sadler (6)

3. Matt Crafton (8)

4. Brian Vickers (11)

5. Kyle Busch (5)

6. Austin Dillon (1)

7. Kyle Larson (21)

8. Nelson Piquet Jr (18)

9. Sam Hornish Jr (3)

10. Alex Bowman (10)

Average speed: 131.162 mph (rain-shortened, stopped after 170 laps/255 miles)

Time of race: 1 hr., 56 mins., 39 secs.

Margin of victory: Under Caution

Caution flags: 5 for 25 laps

Lead changes: 12 among 7 drivers

Past winners

2013 Brad Keselowski, Ford, 131.162 mph

2012 Austin Dillon, Chevrolet, 151.643 mph

2011 Brad Keselowski, Dodge, 138.408 mph

2010 Joey Logano, Toyota, 115.286 mph

2009 Joey Logano, Toyota, 127.796 mph

2008 Joey Logano, Toyota, 135.508 mph

2007 Stephen Leicht, Ford, 117.698 mph

2006 David Gilliland, , Chevrolet - 116.004 mph

2005 Carl Edwards, Ford, 117.111 mph

2004 Kyle Busch, Chevrolet, 126.642 mph

2003 Bobby Hamilton Jr, Ford, 136.123 mph

2002 Todd Bodine, Chevrolet, 127.164 mph

2001 Kevin Harvick, Chevrolet, 118.590 mph

Last race

Race: Gardner Denver 200 (June 21)

Site: Road America -- Plymouth, Wisconsin

Miles: 212

Laps: 53

Finish line order: Brendan Gaughan, Alex Tagliani, Kevin O'Connell, Chase Elliott, J.J. Yeley

Time of Race: 2 hrs., 48 mins., 3 secs.

Average speed: 76.600 mph

Margin of victory: 0.820 secs.

Caution flags: 4 for 10 laps

Lead changes: 7 among 4 drivers

Lap leaders: Tagliani-pole, Hornish Jr 1-13, Gaughan 14-16, Hornish Jr 17-27, Tagliani-pole, Hornish Jr 1-13, Gaughan 14-16, Hornish Jr 17-27, Bayne 28, Hornish Jr 29, Tagliani 30-48, Gaughan 49-53.

Entry list

#01 Landon Cassill (Fairfax, IA) Chevrolet/

#2 Brian Scott (Boise, ID) Chevrolet/Shore Lodge

#3 Ty Dillon (Welcome, NC) Chevrolet/Red Kap/Alsco

#4 Jeffrey Earnhardt (Mooresville, NC) Chevrolet/

#5 Kevin Harvick (Bakersfield, CA) Chevrolet/Kroger/P&G

#6 Trevor Bayne (Knoxville, TN) Ford/AdvoCare

#7 Regan Smith (Cato, NY) Chevrolet/

#9 Chase Elliott (Dawsonville, GA) Chevrolet/NAPA Auto Parts

#10 Jeff Green (Owensboro, KY) Toyota/

#11 Elliott Sadler (Emporia, VA) Toyota/One Main Financial

#12 Ryan Blaney (High Point, NC) Ford/Snap-On

#13 Carl Long (Roxboro, NC) Toyota/Headrush

#14 Eric McClure (Chilhowie, VA) Toyota/Hefty/Reynolds Wrap

#16 Ryan Reed (Bakersfield, CA) Ford/American Diabetes Assoc.

#17 Tanner Berryhill (Bixby, OK) Dodge/

#19 Mike Bliss (Milwaukie, OR) Toyota/Trane

#20 Matt Kenseth (Cambridge, WI) Toyota/Resers

#22 * Brad Keselowski (Rochester Hills, MI Ford/Discount Tire

#23 Josh Reaume (Redlands, CA) Chevrolet/Rick Ware Racing

#25 John Wes Townley (Watkinsville, GA) Toyota/Zaxby's

#28 J.J. Yeley (Phoenix, AZ) Dodge/Texas 28 Spirits Stage

#31 Dylan Kwasniewski (Las Vegas, NV) Chevrolet/Rockstar

#33 Paul Menard (Eau Claire, WI) Chevrolet/Menards/Libman

#39 Ryan Sieg (Tucker, GA) Chevrolet/RSS Racing

#40 Josh Wise (Riverside, CA) Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing

#42 Kyle Larson (Elk Grove, CA) Chevrolet/Cartwheel by Target

#43 Dakoda Armstrong (New Castle, IN) Ford/Winfield

#44 Blake Koch (West Palm Beach, FL) Toyota/TriStar Motorsports

#46 Matt DiBenedetto (Grass Valley, CA) Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing

#51 Jeremy Clements (Spartanburg, SC) Chevrolet/

#52 Joey Gase (Cedar Rapids, IA) Chevrolet/TBA

#54 Kyle Busch (Las Vegas, NV) Toyota/Monster Energy

#55 Jamie Dick (Albuquerque, NM) Chevrolet/Viva Auto Group

#60 Chris Buescher (Prosper, TX) Ford/Roush Fenway Racing

#62 Brendan Gaughan (Las Vegas, NV) Chevrolet/South Point

#70 Derrike Cope (Spanaway, WA) Chevrolet/Youtheory

#72 Matt Carter (Denver, NC) Chevrolet/TBA

#74 Kevin Lepage (Shelburne, VT) Chevrolet/TBA

#76 Tommy Joe Martins (Como, MS) Dodge/TBA

#84 Chad Boat (Phoenix, AZ) Chevrolet/

#86 To Be Announced Chevrolet/Bubba Burger

#87 Joe Nemechek (Lakeland, FL) Chevrolet/JD Motorsports

#89 Morgan Shepherd (Ferguson, NC) Chevrolet/King's Tire

#90 Martin Roy (Napierville, Canada) Chevrolet/TBA

#93 Mike Wallace (St. Louis, MO) Dodge/JGL Racing

#98 Corey LaJoie (Concord, NC) Ford/Fazoli's/Kelvinator Comm.

#99 James Buescher (Plano, TX) Toyota/Rheem

Leading contenders

Name 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013
Brad Keselowski 4 3 3 Won 7 Won
Elliott Sadler 5 9 2
Kyle Busch 13 30 2 3 3
Kyle Larson 7
Trevor Bayne 12 11 11 7
Brian Scott 31 15 30 17
Regan Smith 41 16 19 30
Kevin Harvick 6 2 3
Paul Menard 5 9 32
Matt Kenseth
Chase Elliott
Ty Dillon


The John R. Elliott HERO Campaign 300 at Kentucky Speedway is the 15th race on the 2014 Nationwide Series schedule.

There have been 15 Nationwide races held at Kentucky, including one event per season from 2001-11 and two each year since then. The series will return there the third weekend in September.

Joey Logano holds the record for most Nationwide victories at Kentucky with three. Logano, whose wins there came consecutively from 2008-10, is not entered in this year's race. Austin Dillon and Brad Keselowski have each won at this track twice. Dillon scored a season-sweep there in 2012.

Kevin Harvick won the inaugural Nationwide race at Kentucky, the Outback Steakhouse 300, on June 16, 2001.

Richard Childress, Joe Gibbs and Roger Penske share the record for most car owner wins in Nationwide races at Kentucky with three each. Last year, Keselowski (June race) and Ryan Blaney (September event) gave Penske a season- sweep there.

Six of the 15 previous Nationwide races at Kentucky have been won from the pole position. Dillon most recently did it in September 2012.

The closest margin of victory in a Nationwide race at Kentucky occurred on June 16, 2002 when Todd Bodine beat Greg Biffle to the finish line by just 0.036 seconds.

Five drivers scored their first career Nationwide wins at Kentucky: David Gilliland (2006), Stephen Leicht (2007), Logano (2008), Dillon (June 2012) and Blaney (September 2013). Blaney is the only one of those five that is on the entry list for this race.

Regan Smith (2007) is the only driver entered that claimed his maiden pole in Nationwide at Kentucky. Smith currently holds a 10-point lead in the Nationwide championship standings.

The next race is the July 4 Subway Firecracker 250 at Daytona International Speedway. Matt Kenseth won last year's event there.

Read more Nationwide Series stories from the Miami Herald

Miami Herald

Join the

The Miami Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Miami Herald uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here.

Have a news tip? You can send it anonymously. Click here to send us your tip - or - consider joining the Public Insight Network and become a source for The Miami Herald and el Nuevo Herald.

Hide Comments

This affects comments on all stories.

Cancel OK

  • Marketplace

Today's Circulars

  • Quick Job Search

Enter Keyword(s) Enter City Select a State Select a Category