NASCAR - Camping World Truck - Drivin' for Linemen 200 Preview


The Sports Network

Date: Saturday, June 14

Start Time: 8:30 p.m. ET

Site: Gateway Motorsports Park -- Madison, Illinois

Track: 1.25-mile oval

Laps: 160

Miles: 200

Capacity: 65,000 (Grandstand Seating)

Total purse:


Year: 14th overall, first since 2010

On TV: FOX Sports 1


On Radio: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio

Race record: Jack Sprague, 2000 (113.726 mph)

Qualifying record: Ted Musgrave, 2005 (135.159 mph)

2010 Finish

Defending champion: Kevin Harvick/2010 winner (not defending)

Runner up: Brad Keselowski

Pole winner: Kevin Harvick (133.325 mph)

Top 10:

1. Kevin Harvick (Start: 1)

2. Brad Keselowski (3)

3. Johnny Sauter (5)

4. Todd Bodine (14)

5. Matt Crafton (9)

6. Timothy Peters (7)

7. Austin Dillon (6)

8. Aric Almirola (16)

9. Brian Ickler (10)

10. Mike Skinner (13)

Average speed: 101.983 mph

Time of race: 1 hr., 57 mins., 40 secs.

Margin of victory: 5.241 secs.

Caution flags: 5 for 27 laps

Lead changes: 4 among 3 drivers

Past winners

2013 , , ot held

2012 , , ot held

2011 , , ot held

2010 Kevin Harvick, Chevrolet, 101.983 mph

2009 Mike Skinner, Toyota, 89.273 mph

2008 Ron Hornaday Jr, Chevrolet, 93.860 mph

2007 Johnny Benson, Toyota, 103.657 mph

2006 Todd Bodine, Toyota, 84.966 mph

2005 Ted Musgrave, Dodge, 100.854 mph

2004 David Starr, Chevrolet, 93.694 mph

2003 Brendan Gaughan, Dodge, 99.489 mph

2002 Terry Cook, Ford, 109.323 mph

2001 Ted Musgrave, Dodge, 112.237 mph

2000 Jack Sprague, Chevrolet, 113.726 mph

1999 Greg Biffle, Ford, 111.853 mph

1998 Rick Carelli, Chevrolet, 99.764 mph

Last race

Race: WinStar World Casino 400 (June 6)

Site: Texas Motor Speedway -- Fort Worth, Texas

Miles: 250.5 (400 kilometers)

Laps: 167

Finish line order: Matt Crafton, Justin Lofton, Joe Nemechek, Ryan Blaney, John Wes Townley

Time of Race: 1 hr., 53 mins., 2 secs.

Average speed: 132.970 mph

Margin of victory: 13.302 secs.

Caution flags: 4 for 23 laps

Lead changes: 8 among 3 drivers

Lap leaders: Lofton-pole, Crafton 1-36, Hornaday Jr 37-38, Blaney 39-49, Lofton-pole, Crafton 1-36, Hornaday Jr 37-38, Blaney 39-49, Crafton 50-58, Blaney 59-92, Crafton 93-109, Hornaday Jr 110-111, Crafton 112-167.

Entry list

#00 Cole Custer (Ladera Ranch, CA) Chevrolet/Haas Automation

#0 To Be Announced Chevrolet/The Parkway Hotel

#02 Tyler Young (Midland, TX) Chevrolet/RandCo/Young's Building

#5 John Wes Townley (Watkinsville, GA) Toyota/Zaxby's

#07 Ray Black Jr. (Palm Coast, FL) Chevrolet/Scuba Life/NASE Worldwide

#08 Jimmy Weller III (Hubbard, OH) Chevrolet/TBA

#8 John Hunter Nemechek (Lakeland, FL) Toyota/TBA

#9 Chase Pistone (Cornelius, NC) Chevrolet/NTS Motorsports

#10 Jennifer Jo Cobb (Kansas City, KS) RAM/The Parkway Hotel

#12 Ted Minor (Weatherford, TX) Chevrolet/TBA

#13 Jeb Burton (Halifax, VA) Toyota/Estes/Carolina Nut

#17 Timothy Peters (Providence, NC) Toyota/Red Horse Racing

#19 Tyler Reddick (Corning, CA) Ford/Draw Tite

#20 Gray Gaulding (Colonial Heights, VA) Chevrolet/Krispy Kreme/Gemini So.

#21 Joey Coulter (Miami Springs, FL) Chevrolet/TBA

#29 Ryan Blaney (High Point, NC) Ford/Cooper Standard

#30 Ron Hornaday Jr. (Palmdale, CA) Chevrolet/Rheem

#31 Ben Kennedy (Daytona Beach, FL) Chevrolet/Turner Scott Motorsports

#32 Tayler Malsam (Seattle, WA) Chevrolet/Outerwall

#35 Mason Mingus (Brentwood, TN) Toyota/Call 811

#36 Scott Stenzel (Alexandria, MN) RAM/Mittler Bros. Machine & Tools

#50 T.J. Bell (Reno, NV) Chevrolet/Electrical Linemen

#51 Erik Jones (Byron, MI) Toyota/Kyle Busch Motorsports

#54 Darrell Wallace Jr. (Mobile, AL) Toyota/Make In America

#57 Norm Benning (Level Green, PA) Chevrolet/TBA

#63 Justin Jennings (LaGrange, MO) Chevrolet/LG Seeds/Mittler Bros.

#77 German Quiroga (Mexico City, Mexico) Toyota/NET 10 Wireless

#88 Matt Crafton (Tulare, CA) Toyota/Menard's/Ideal Door

#98 Johnny Sauter (Necedah, WI) Toyota/Smokey Mountain Snuff

#99 Bryan Silas (Stuart, FL) Chevrolet/TBA

Leading contenders

Name 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013
Johnny Sauter 2 3
Matt Crafton 17 12 9 12 6 5
Timothy Peters 16 32 7 6
Ron Hornaday Jr 30 15 2 Won 17 26
Tayler Malsam 5
Jeb Burton
Ryan Blaney
Ben Kennedy
German Quiroga
Darrell Wallace Jr.


The Drivin' for Linemen 200 at Gateway Motorsports Park is the seventh race on the 2014 Camping World Truck Series schedule.

Located just outside of St. Louis, Gateway Motorsports Park has 11 degrees of banking in turns 1 and 2 and 9 degrees in turns 3 and 4. The length of the frontstretch is 1,922 feet, and the backstretch measures 1,976 feet. This track was originally named Gateway International Raceway.

The Truck Series competed at Gateway once each season from 1998-2010. This track closed on Nov. 3, 2010 and re-opened nearly one year later under new ownership. Gateway has returned to the truck schedule for 2014 season.

The Nationwide Series also raced at this track from 1997-2010.

Rick Carelli won the inaugural truck race at this track, the Ram Tough 200, on Sept. 19, 1998.

Ted Musgrave is the only driver who scored multiple truck victories at Gateway. Musgrave started on the pole and won there in 2001 and '05.

Ron Hornaday Jr. is the only driver on the entry list for this weekend's race that won a previous truck race at Gateway. Hornaday's victory there came in 2008.

Matt Crafton, the defending series champion and current points leader, has competed in 10 previous truck races at Gateway. Crafton's best finish there is fifth, which came in 2010. He won last Friday night's event at Texas. It was his second victory of the season.

The next race is the June 26 UNOH 225 at Kentucky Speedway. Ty Dillon won last year's event there.

Read more Craftsman Truck stories from the Miami Herald

  • Keselowski grabs first win in Truck Series at Bristol

    Brad Keselowski claimed his first victory in the Camping World Truck Series after holding off Darrell Wallace Jr. in the closing laps of Thursday's UNOH 200 at Bristol Motor Speedway.

  • Bristol truck race rained out, rescheduled for Thursday

    Persistent rain at Bristol Motor Speedway forced the postponement of Wednesday night's UNOH 200 Camping World Truck Series race.

  • Kyle Busch aiming for another trifecta at Bristol

    In August 2010, Busch won the Sprint Cup, Nationwide and Truck Series races at Bristol on the same week, becoming the first driver in NASCAR history to accomplish that feat. One year ago here, he took the checkered flag for the Nationwide and Truck events but finished 11th in the Sprint Cup race. He had to start from the rear of the field after he had wrecked in qualifying.

Miami Herald

Join the

The Miami Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Miami Herald uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here.

Have a news tip? You can send it anonymously. Click here to send us your tip - or - consider joining the Public Insight Network and become a source for The Miami Herald and el Nuevo Herald.

Hide Comments

This affects comments on all stories.

Cancel OK

  • Marketplace

Today's Circulars

  • Quick Job Search

Enter Keyword(s) Enter City Select a State Select a Category