NASCAR - Nationwide - Ollie's Bargain Outlet 250 Preview


The Sports Network

Date: Saturday, June 14

Start Time: 2 p.m. ET

Site: Michigan International Speedway -- Brooklyn, Michigan

Track: 2-mile oval

Laps: 125

Miles: 250

Capacity: 72,000 (Grandstand Seating)

Total purse:


Year: 23rd



On Radio: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio

Race record:

Qualifying record: Austin Dillon, 2013 (191.882 mph)

2013 Finish

Defending champion: Regan Smith

Runner up: Kyle Larson

Pole winner: Austin Dillon (191.882 mph)

Top 10:

1. Regan Smith (Start: 20)

2. Kyle Larson (11)

3. Paul Menard (2)

4. Kyle Busch (14)

5. Trevor Bayne (4)

6. Brad Sweet (6)

7. Chris Buescher (8)

8. Elliott Sadler (19)

9. Nelson Piquet Jr (21)

10. Brian Scott (3)

Average speed: 137.825 mph

Time of race: 1 hr., 48 mins., 50 secs.

Margin of victory: 0.330 secs.

Caution flags: 5 for 23 laps

Lead changes: 5 among 5 drivers

Past winners

2013 Regan Smith, Chevrolet, 137.825 mph

2012 Joey Logano, Toyota, 132.979 mph

2011 Carl Edwards, Ford, 144.834 mph

2010 Brad Keselowski, Dodge, 150.678 mph

2009 Brad Keselowski, Chevrolet, 133.077 mph

2008 Carl Edwards, Ford, 136.571 mph

2007 Denny Hamlin, Chevrolet, 156.467 mph

2006 Dale Earnhardt Jr, Chevrolet, 124.524 mph

2005 Ryan Newman, Dodge, 136.986 mph

2004 Kyle Busch, Chevrolet, 122.166 mph

2003 Kevin Harvick, Chevrolet, 140.850 mph

2002 Michael Waltrip, Chevrolet, 135.644 mph

2001 Ryan Newman, Ford, 139.557 mph

2000 Todd Bodine, Chevrolet, 162.749 mph

1999 Dale Earnhardt Jr, Chevrolet, 158.975 mph

1998 Jeff Burton, Ford, 167.910 mph

1997 Steve Park, Chevrolet, 159.681 mph

1996 Jeff Purvis, Chevrolet, 161.038 mph

1995 Mark Martin, Ford, 169.571 mph

1994 Bobby Labonte, Chevrolet, 142.461 mph

1993 Mark Martin, Ford, 124.611 mph

1992 Todd Bodine, Chevrolet, 125.414 mph

Last race

Race: Buckle Up 200 (May 31)

Site: Dover International Speedway -- Dover, Delaware

Miles: 200

Laps: 200

Finish line order: Kyle Busch, Trevor Bayne, Joey Logano, Matt Kenseth, Chase Elliott

Time of Race: 1 hr., 44 mins., 35 secs.

Average speed: 114.741 mph

Margin of victory: 1.005 secs.

Caution flags: 4 for 27 laps

Lead changes: 3 among 3 drivers

Lap leaders: Logano-pole, Elliott 1-18, Logano 19-76, K. Busch 77-200. Logano-pole, Elliott 1-18, Logano 19-76, K. Busch 77-200.

Entry list

#01 Landon Cassill (Fairfax, IA) Chevrolet/

#2 Brian Scott (Boise, ID) Chevrolet/Shore Lodge

#3 Ty Dillon (Welcome, NC) Chevrolet/Wesco

#4 Jeffrey Earnhardt (Mooresville, NC) Chevrolet/

#6 Trevor Bayne (Knoxville, TN) Ford/AdvoCare

#7 * Regan Smith (Cato, NY) Chevrolet/

#9 Chase Elliott (Dawsonville, GA) Chevrolet/NAPA Auto Parts

#10 Kevin Lepage (Shelburne, VT) Toyota/

#11 Elliott Sadler (Emporia, VA) Toyota/One Main Financial

#13 Carl Long (Roxboro, NC) Toyota/Headrush

#14 Jeff Green (Owensboro, KY) Toyota/Hefty/Reynolds Wrap

#16 Ryan Reed (Bakersfield, CA) Ford/American Diabetes Assoc.

#17 Tanner Berryhill (Bixby, OK) Dodge/

#19 Mike Bliss (Milwaukie, OR) Toyota/TriStar Motorsports

#20 Sam Hornish Jr. (Defiance, OH) Toyota/Sun Energy 1

#22 Joey Logano (Middletown, CT) Ford/Discount Tires

#23 Robert Richardson Jr. (McKinney, TX) Chevrolet/Rick Ware Racing

#28 J.J. Yeley (Phoenix, AZ) Dodge/Texas 28 Spirits Stage

#31 Dylan Kwasniewski (Las Vegas, NV) Chevrolet/Rockstar

#33 Paul Menard (Eau Claire, WI) Chevrolet/Menards/Nibco

#39 Ryan Sieg (Tucker, GA) Chevrolet/RSS Racing

#40 Josh Wise (Riverside, CA) Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing

#42 Kyle Larson (Elk Grove, CA) Chevrolet/Cartwheel

#43 Dakoda Armstrong (New Castle, IN) Ford/Winfield

#44 Blake Koch (West Palm Beach, FL) Toyota/

#46 Matt DiBenedetto (Grass Valley, CA) Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing

#51 Jeremy Clements (Spartanburg, SC) Chevrolet/

#52 Joey Gase (Cedar Rapids, IA) Chevrolet/Donate Life

#54 Kyle Busch (Las Vegas, NV) Toyota/Monster Energy

#55 Jamie Dick (Albuquerque, NM) Chevrolet/Viva Auto Group

#60 Chris Buescher (Prosper, TX) Ford/Roush Performance Parts

#62 Brendan Gaughan (Las Vegas, NV) Chevrolet/South Point

#67 Benny Gordon (DuBois, PA) Ford/Cross Concrete Construction

#70 Derrike Cope (Spanaway, WA) Chevrolet/Youtheory

#72 Matt Carter (Denver, NC) Chevrolet/CrashClaimsR.US

#74 Mike Harmon (Birmingport, AL) Dodge/TBA

#76 Tommy Joe Martins (Como, MS) Ford/TBA

#80 Ross Chastain (Alva, FL) Toyota/Aisin

#87 Joe Nemechek (Lakeland, FL) Toyota/TBA

#88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. (Kannapolis, NC) Chevrolet/eBay

#89 Morgan Shepherd (Ferguson, NC) Chevrolet/King's Tire

#93 Harrison Rhodes (High Point, NC) Dodge/JGL Racing

#99 James Buescher (Plano, TX) Toyota/Rheem

Leading contenders

Name 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013
Regan Smith 20 31 Won
Kyle Larson 2
Paul Menard 6 25 7 10 5 4 8 3
Kyle Busch 14 3 3 3 4
Trevor Bayne 30 11 5 5
Elliott Sadler 9 7 8 11 8
Brian Scott 15 17 9 10
Joey Logano 7 6 6 Won 11
Sam Hornish Jr. 25 24 6 32
Dale Earnhardt Jr. Won
Chase Elliott
Ty Dillon


The Ollie's Bargain Outlet 250 at Michigan International Speedway is the 13th race on the 2014 Nationwide Series schedule.

There have been 22 Nationwide races at Michigan. The series has competed there once each year since 1992. Todd Bodine won the inaugural event at this track.

Bodine, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Carl Edwards, Brad Keselowski, Mark Martin and Ryan Newman share the record for most Nationwide victories at Michigan with two each. Earnhardt is the only one of them who is on the entry list for this weekend's race there.

Kyle Busch has scored only one victory in six Nationwide starts at Michigan. Busch won there in 2004.

Jack Roush has the most car owner wins in Nationwide races at Michigan with five.

The race winner at Michigan has started from the pole three times. Brad Keselowski most recently did it in 2010.

Since NASCAR began using electronic timing and scoring in 1993, the closest margin of victory in a Nationwide race at Michigan occurred on Aug. 19, 2000 when Bodine beat Michael Waltrip to the finish line by just 0.192 seconds.

Ryan Newman holds the track record for most laps led by a Nationwide race winner. Newman scored his first career victory in the series after leading a total of 119 laps in the August 2001 race at Michigan.

The next race is the June 21 Gardner Denver 200 at Road America in Plymouth, Wisconsin. A.J. Allmendinger won last year's event there.

Read more Nationwide Series stories from the Miami Herald

Miami Herald

Join the

The Miami Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Miami Herald uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here.

Have a news tip? You can send it anonymously. Click here to send us your tip - or - consider joining the Public Insight Network and become a source for The Miami Herald and el Nuevo Herald.

Hide Comments

This affects comments on all stories.

Cancel OK

  • Marketplace

Today's Circulars

  • Quick Job Search

Enter Keyword(s) Enter City Select a State Select a Category