NASCAR - Camping World Truck - Lucas Oil 200 Preview


The Sports Network

Date: Friday, May 30

Start Time: 5:30 p.m. ET

Site: Dover International Speedway -- Dover, Del.

Track: 1-mile oval

Laps: 200

Miles: 200

Capacity: 113,000 (Grandstand Seating)

Total purse:


Year: 15th

On TV: FOX Sports 1


On Radio: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio

Race record: Mark Martin, 2006 (120.200 mph)

Qualifying record: Kevin Harvick, 2012 (158.235 mph)

2013 Finish

Defending champion: Kyle Busch

Runner up: Matt Crafton

Pole winner: Darrell Wallace Jr. (156.617 mph)

Top 10:

1. Kyle Busch (Start: 5)

2. Matt Crafton (7)

3. Ryan Blaney (4)

4. Chase Elliott (2)

5. Brendan Gaughan (15)

6. Timothy Peters (14)

7. Johnny Sauter (10)

8. Joey Coulter (24)

9. Jeb Burton (3)

10. Darrell Wallace Jr (1)

Average speed: 109.008 mph

Time of race: 1 hr., 50 mins., 5 secs.

Margin of victory: 1.484 secs.

Caution flags: 6 for 29 laps

Lead changes: 7 among 6 drivers

Past winners

2013 Kyle Busch, Toyota, 109.008 mph

2012 Todd Bodine, Toyota, 81.667 mph (rain-shortened)

2011 Kyle Busch, Toyota, 99.695 mph

2010 , Toyota, 97.881 mph

2009 Brian Scott, Toyota, 92.819 mph

2008 Scott Speed, Toyota, 100.279 mph

2007 Ron Hornaday Jr, Chevrolet, 107.463 mph

2006 Mark Martin, Ford, 120.200 mph.

2005 Kyle Busch, Chevrolet, 96.735 mph

2004 Chad Chaffin, Dodge, 98.996 mph

2003 Jason Leffler, Dodge, 97.232 mph

2002 Ted Musgrave, Dodge, 104.545 mph

2001 Scott Riggs, Dodge, 99.256 mph

2000 Kurt Busch, Ford, 97.168 mph

Last race

Race: North Carolina Education Lottery 200 (May 16)

Site: Charlotte Motor Speedway -- Concord, N.C.

Miles: 201

Laps: 134

Finish line order: Kyle Busch, Matt Crafton, Brad Keselowski, John Wes Townley, Timothy Peters

Time of Race: 1 hr., 59 mins., 54 secs.

Average speed: 100.584 mph

Margin of victory: Under Caution

Caution flags: 9 for 47 laps

Lead changes: 2 among 2 drivers

Lap leaders: K. Busch 1-87, Nemechek 88-91, K. Busch 92-134. K. Busch 1-87, Nemechek 88-91, K. Busch 92-134.

Entry list

#00 Cole Custer (Ladera Ranch, CA) Chevrolet/Haas Automation

#0 Ryan Ellis (Torrance, CA) Chevrolet/

#02 Tyler Young (Midland, TX) Chevrolet/Randco/Young's Building

#5 John Wes Townley (Watkinsville, GA) Toyota/Zaxby's

#07 Jimmy Weller III (Hubbard, OH) Chevrolet/Geneva Liberty Steel

#08 Jake Crum (Statesville, NC) Chevrolet/Thunder Exhaust

#8 John Hunter Nemechek (Lakeland, FL) Toyota/Hard Rock Energy

#9 Brennan Newberry (Bakersfield, CA) Chevrolet/Qore-24

#10 Jennifer Jo Cobb (Kansas City, KS) RAM/

#13 Jeb Burton (Halifax, VA) Toyota/Estes Toyota

#17 Timothy Peters (Providence, NC) Toyota/Red Horse Racing

#19 Tyler Reddick (Corning, CA) Ford/Reese Towpower

#20 Gray Gaulding (Colonial Heights, VA) Chevrolet/Krispy Kreme

#21 Joey Coulter (Miami Springs, FL) Chevrolet/TBA

#29 Ryan Blaney (High Point, NC) Ford/Cooper Standard

#30 Ron Hornaday Jr. (Palmdale, CA) Chevrolet/Rheem

#31 Ben Kennedy (Daytona Beach, FL) Chevrolet/Click It or Ticket

#32 Ben Rhodes (Louisville, KY) Chevrolet/Alpha Energy Solutions

#33 Brandon Jones (Atlanta, GA) Chevrolet/Exide

#35 Mason Mingus (Brentwood, TN) Toyota/811 Call Before You

#36 Blake Koch (West Palm Beach, FL) RAM/Mittler Bros. Machine & Tool

#40 Todd Peck (Glenville, PA) Chevrolet/

#42 Charles Lewandowski (Staff. Spr., CT Chevrolet/Randco/Young's Building

#50 T.J. Bell (Reno, NV) Chevrolet/America's Linemen

#51 * Kyle Busch (Las Vegas, NV) Toyota/Betty J. France Humanitarian

#54 Darrell Wallace Jr. (Mobile, AL) Toyota/Kyle Busch Motorsports

#56 Raymond Terczak Jr. (Stafford, VA) Chevrolet/TBA

#57 Norm Benning (Level Green, PA) Chevrolet/TBA

#63 Justin Jennings (LaGrange, MO) Chevrolet/TBA

#77 German Quiroga (Mexico City, Mexico) Toyota/NET 10 Wireless

#88 Matt Crafton (Tulare, CA) Toyota/Menards/Ripit

#92 Scott Riggs (Bahama, NC) Ford/BTS Tire/Goodyear Fleet HQ

#98 Johnny Sauter (Necedah, WI) Toyota/Nextant/Curb Records

#99 Bryan Silas (Stuart, FL) Chevrolet/Bell Trucks America Inc.

Leading contenders

Name 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013
Kyle Busch Won 10 12 27 9 16 Won Won
Matt Crafton 9 15 26 5 6 7 3 8 2
Ryan Blaney 3
Timothy Peters 6 14 17 25 17 9 6
Johnny Sauter 5 15 11 24 7
Jeb Burton 19 9
Darrell Wallace Jr. 10
Ron Hornaday Jr 4 7 Won 3 26 12 9 27 12
German Quiroga 13
Ty Dillon 6 31
Ben Kennedy


The Lucas Oil 200 at Dover International Speedway is the fifth race on the 2014 Camping World Truck Series schedule.

The series has competed at Dover once each year since 2000. Kyle Busch is the only driver with multiple truck victories at this racetrack. Busch has won there three times (2005, '11 and '13).

Kurt Busch won the inaugural truck race at Dover, the MBNA 200, on Sept. 22, 2000. Busch started on the pole for that event.

In 2001, Scott Riggs started on the pole and won a truck race at this track. No driver has won from that starting position there since then.

Matt Crafton, the current points leader, has the most truck starts at Dover with 13. Crafton did not compete in the first race there in 2000. He has yet to win at this track, but did finish second to Kyle Busch in last year's race.

The next race is the June 6 WinStar World Casino 400 at Texas Motor Speedway. Jeb Burton won last year's event there.

Read more Craftsman Truck stories from the Miami Herald

Miami Herald

Join the

The Miami Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Miami Herald uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here.

Have a news tip? You can send it anonymously. Click here to send us your tip - or - consider joining the Public Insight Network and become a source for The Miami Herald and el Nuevo Herald.

Hide Comments

This affects comments on all stories.

Cancel OK

  • Marketplace

Today's Circulars

  • Quick Job Search

Enter Keyword(s) Enter City Select a State Select a Category