NASCAR - Nationwide - Buckle Up 200 Preview


The Sports Network

Date: Saturday, May 31

Start Time: 2 p.m. ET

Site: Dover International Speedway -- Dover, Del.

Track: 1-mile oval

Laps: 200

Miles: 200

Capacity: 113,000 (Grandstand Seating)

Total purse:


Year: 33rd



On Radio: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio

Race record: Joey Logano, September 2013 (131.219 mph)

Qualifying record: Kyle Busch, 2010 (158.228 mph)

2013 Finish

Defending champion: Joey Logano

Runner up: Brian Vickers

Pole winner: Austin Dillon (152.951 mph)

Top 10:

1. Joey Logano (Start: 6)

2. Brian Vickers (11)

3. Matt Kenseth (9)

4. Trevor Bayne (12)

5. Kyle Busch (3)

6. Kasey Kahne (5)

7. Sam Hornish Jr (2)

8. Austin Dillon (1)

9. Regan Smith (7)

10. Kyle Larson (15)

Average speed: 111.145 mph

Time of race: 1 hr., 47 mins., 58 secs.

Margin of victory: 0.576 secs.

Caution flags: 5 for 28 laps

Lead changes: 9 among 5 drivers

Past winners

2013 Joey Logano, Ford, 111.145 mph

2012 Joey Logano, Toyota, 110.497 mph

2011 Carl Edwards, Ford, 95.180 mph

2010 Kyle Busch, Toyota, 112.965 mph

2009 Brad Keselowski, Chevrolet, 93.168 mph

2008 Denny Hamlin, Toyota, 112.395 mph

2007 Carl Edwards, Ford, 92.975 mph

2006 Jeff Burton, Chevrolet, 103.791 mph

2005 Martin Truex Jr, Chevrolet, 97.258 mph

2004 Greg Biffle, Ford, 87.934 mph

2003 Joe Nemechek, Chevrolet, 104.651 mph

2002 Greg Biffle, Ford, 110.735 mph

2001 Jimmy Spencer, Chevrolet, 91.394 mph

2000 Jason Keller, Chevrolet, 99.709 mph

1999 Dale Earnhardt Jr, Chevrolet, 91.324 mph

1998 Dale Earnhardt Jr, Chevrolet, 130.152 mph

1997 Bobby Labonte, Chevrolet, 114.358 mph

1996 Randy LaJoie, Chevrolet, 96.308 mph

1995 Mike McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 102.887 mph

1994 Mike Wallace, Chevrolet, 96.013 mph

1993 Todd Bodine, Chevrolet, 116.694 mph

1992 Robert Pressley, Oldsmobile, 89.408 mph

1991 Todd Bodine, Buick, 118.323 mph

1990 Michael Waltrip, Pontiac, 108.091 mph

1989 Rick Wilson, Oldsmobile, 114.122 mph

1988 Bobby Hillin Jr, Buick, 112.236 mph

1987 Mark Martin, Ford, 101.408 mph

1986 Darrell Waltrip, Chevrolet, 107.914 mph

1985 Darrell Waltrip, Chevrolet, 108.926 mph

1984 Sam Ard, Oldsmobile, 111.888 mph

1983 Ricky Rudd, Oldsmobile, 118.285 mph

1982 Joe Ruttman, Pontiac, 111.679 mph

Last race

Race: History 300 (May 24)

Site: Charlotte Motor Speedway -- Concord, N.C.

Miles: 300

Laps: 200

Finish line order: Kyle Larson, Brad Keselowski, Kyle Busch, Kevin Harvick, Brian Scott

Time of Race: 2 hrs., 11 secs.

Average speed: 149.771 mph

Margin of victory: 1.480 secs.

Caution flags: 3 for 13 laps

Lead changes:

Lap leaders: K. Busch 1-25, Clements 26, K. Busch 27-28, Kenseth 29-83, K. Busch 1-25, Clements 26, K. Busch 27-28, Kenseth 29-83, Keselowski 84, Kenseth 85-96, Keselowski 97-117, Larson 118-143, Buescher 144, Larson 145-200.

Entry list

#01 Landon Cassill (Fairfax, IA) Chevrolet/

#2 Brian Scott (Boise, ID) Chevrolet/Shore Lodge

#3 Ty Dillon (Welcome, NC) Chevrolet/Bulwark/Airgas

#4 Jeffrey Earnhardt (Mooresville, NC) Chevrolet/

#6 Trevor Bayne (Knoxville, TN) Ford/AdvoCare

#7 Regan Smith (Cato, NY) Chevrolet/Breyers

#9 Chase Elliott (Dawsonville, GA) Chevrolet/NAPA Auto Parts

#10 Blake Koch (West Palm Beach, FL) Toyota/

#11 Elliott Sadler (Emporia, VA) Toyota/One Main Financial

#13 Matt Carter (Denver, NC) Toyota/TBA

#14 Jeff Green (Owensboro, KY) Toyota/Hefty/Reynolds Wrap

#15 Ryan Ellis (Ashburn, VA) Ford/Rick Ware Racing

#16 Ryan Reed (Bakersfield, CA) Ford/American Diabetes Assoc.

#17 Tanner Berryhill (Bixby, OK) Dodge/

#19 Mike Bliss (Milwaukie, OR) Toyota/TriStar Motorsports

#20 Matt Kenseth (Cambridge, WI) Toyota/Resers

#22 * Joey Logano (Middletown, CT) Ford/Hertz

#23 Timmy Hill (Port Tobacco, MD) Chevrolet/Rick Ware Racing

#28 J.J. Yeley (Phoenix, AZ) Dodge/JGL Racing

#31 Dylan Kwasniewski (Las Vegas, NV) Chevrolet/Rockstar

#33 Cale Conley (Vienna, WV) Chevrolet/IAVA

#39 Ryan Sieg (Tucker, GA) Chevrolet/RSS Racing

#40 Josh Wise (Riverside, CA) Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing

#42 Kyle Larson (Elk Grove, CA) Chevrolet/Cartwheel

#43 Dakoda Armstrong (New Castle, IN) Ford/Winfield

#44 Paulie Harraka (Wayne, NJ) Toyota/Buckle Up

#46 Matt DiBenedetto (Grass Valley, CA) Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing

#51 Jeremy Clements (Spartanburg, SC) Chevrolet/

#52 Joey Gase (Cedar Rapids, IA) Chevrolet/TBA

#54 Kyle Busch (Las Vegas, NV) Toyota/Monster Energy

#55 Todd Bodine (Chemung, NY) Chevrolet/TBA

#60 Chris Buescher (Prosper, TX) Ford/Roush Fenway Racing

#62 Brendan Gaughan (Las Vegas, NV) Chevrolet/South Point

#70 Derrike Cope (Spanaway, WA) Chevrolet/Youtheory

#74 Mike Harmon (Birmingport, AL) Dodge/TBA

#76 Tommy Joe Martins (Como, MS) Ford/TBA

#87 Joe Nemechek (Lakeland, FL) Toyota/Herbal Mist Tea

#89 Morgan Shepherd (Ferguson, NC) Chevrolet/King's Tire

#93 Josh Reaume (Redlands, CA) Dodge/JGL Racing

#99 James Buescher (Plano, TX) Toyota/Rheem

Leading contenders

Name 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013
Joey Logano 6 2 13 Won Won
Matt Kenseth 26 5 3
Trevor Bayne 29 4
Kyle Busch 36 7 3 17 Won 2 5
Regan Smith 30 39 26 9
Kyle Larson 10
Brian Scott 9 30 3 14
Ty Dillon 8 23
Elliott Sadler 6 7 28
Chase Elliott


The Buckle Up 200 at Dover International Speedway is the 12th race on the 2014 Nationwide Series schedule.

There have been 60 Nationwide races held at Dover, including one event per season from 1982-85 and two each year since then.

Joe Ruttman won the inaugural Nationwide race at Dover, the Sportsman 200, on May 15, 1982.

Joey Logano holds the record for most Nationwide victories at Dover with four. Logano won both races there during the 2012 and '13 seasons. He became the seventh different driver in series history to win four races in a row at the same track.

Todd Bodine, Kyle Busch and Carl Edwards have won a Nationwide race at Dover three times each. Bodine and Busch are entered in this weekend's race there.

Joe Gibbs Racing has the most car owner wins in Nationwide races at Dover with seven.

The Nationwide race winner at Dover has started from the pole seven times. Logano most recently did it last September.

Since NASCAR began using electronic timing and scoring in 1993, the closest margin of victory in a Nationwide race at Dover occurred on Sept. 19, 1998 when Matt Kenseth beat Kevin Grubb to the finish line by just 0.146 seconds.

Two drivers entered in this race made their Nationwide debuts at Dover: Logano (May 31, 2008) and Ty Dillon (June 2, 2012).

No driver on the entry list has scored his first career Nationwide win at Dover.

The next Nationwide race takes place on June 14 at Michigan International Speedway.

Read more Nationwide Series stories from the Miami Herald

Miami Herald

Join the

The Miami Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Miami Herald uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here.

Have a news tip? You can send it anonymously. Click here to send us your tip - or - consider joining the Public Insight Network and become a source for The Miami Herald and el Nuevo Herald.

Hide Comments

This affects comments on all stories.

Cancel OK

  • Marketplace

Today's Circulars

  • Quick Job Search

Enter Keyword(s) Enter City Select a State Select a Category