Miami Hurricanes’ Zack Collins, Chris Diaz honored with ACC baseball awards


Miami Hurricanes catcher Zack Collins was named ACC Freshman of the Year and Chris Diaz ACC Co-Pitcher of the Year.

As the Miami Hurricanes prepare to open the Atlantic Coast Conference baseball tournament Wednesday, two University of Miami players, both from South Florida, received major honors by the league Monday.

Catcher Zack Collins was named ACC Freshman of the Year.

Left-handed junior Chris Diaz was named ACC Co-Pitcher of the Year along with Nathan Kirby of Virginia.

Collins, from Pembroke Pines and a graduate of Plantation American Heritage, is batting .285 and tied for second in the ACC with eight home runs, behind the 10 by Mike Papi of Virginia. His .520 slugging percentage is second in the ACC, behind Florida State Seminole D.J. Stewart’s .588.

Collins leads the sixth-ranked Canes (40-15, 24-6) and is fourth in the league with 46 RBI, tied with FSU’s John Nogowski, and one RBI behind Stewart, Papi and Andrew Knizner of North Carolina State.

Chris Diaz, from Florida City and Miami Gulliver Prep, is tied with Mike Shawaryn of Maryland with the most ACC wins: 9.

Diaz is 9-0 with a 2.32 ERA in 89.1 innings pitched. He has 78 strikeouts. Opponents are hitting .236 against him and he has only given up one home run this season.

Even more impressive: The Hurricanes have won every game in which Diaz has started, dating back to the 2013 NCAA regional in Louisville. The last time UM lost a game pitched by Diaz was on May 24, 2013 in the ACC tournament.

Kirby, with whom Diaz shares the Pitcher of the Year honor, is 8-1 with a 1.58 ERA.

Brian O’Connor of Virginia (43-11, 22-8) won ACC Coach of the Year.

FSU’s Stewart, who is hitting .362, won ACC Player of the Year.

The All-ACC teams were also announced Monday.

UM’s Diaz was the only Hurricane to make the first team, with outfielder Dale Carey (.295), starting pitcher Bryan Radziewski (7-2, 3.14) and closer Bryan Garcia (5-3, 1.61, 15 saves) earning second-team honors.

Collins, outfielder Willie Abreu (.299) and pitcher Andrew Suarez (5-3, 3.15) made third-team All-ACC.

ACC coaches vote for the honorees, but are not allowed to vote for their own players.

The ACC tournament begins Tuesday in Greensboro, N.C. But No. 1 seed Miami will play at 3 p.m. Wednesday against the winner of Tuesday’s game between Georgia Tech (32-24, 14-16) and Wake Forest (30-25, 15-15).

The tournament is a round-robin format, with the winner of Pool A (No. 1 seed Canes, No. 4 Duke, No. 5 Clemson and winner of Georgia Tech-Wake) facing the winner of Pool B (No. 2 FSU, No. 3 Virginia, No. 6 Maryland and the winner of Tuesday’s North Carolina-N.C. State game) in the ACC championship at 1 p.m. Sunday.

Read more UM stories from the Miami Herald

 <span class="cutline_leadin">Tough road:</span> Hurricanes linebacker Denzel Perryman (52), with Thurston Armbrister, relishes the challenge of playing in Lincoln, Nebraska, on Saturday. ‘I can’t wait for this matchup.’

    UM Football

    Miami Hurricanes show no fear of going to Nebraska

    UM’s defense, better statistically this season after three games, is going into Saturday’s game against Nebraska’s explosive offense confident it can hold its own

UM quarterback Gray Crow is shown during the team's spring scrimmage at Sun Life Stadium in Miami Gardens on Saturday, April 12, 2014.

    UM notebook

    Gray Crow moves back to quarterback for University of Miami

    “No, it’s not easy,” Golden said of Crow’s situation. “The idea behind the move back in July was give him an opportunity to play, based on our depth at quarterback. We were hoping he could help us at H-back, at fullback, at long-snapper or in some way on special teams. He talked to us [Tuesday] and we moved him back.”

FILE- In this Sept. 6, 2014, file photo, Miami quarterback Brad Kaaya watches from the sideline during the second half of an NCAA football game against Florida A&M in Miami Gardens, Fla. Kaaya was walking through the Miami campus earlier this week, totally unbothered and unnoticed as he strolled around Lake Osceola. Call it a rare moment of solitude for the Hurricanes' quarterback, who has been thrust into the fire as a freshman starter and is now getting ready for No. 24 Nebraska on Saturday night.

    UM Football

    Miami Hurricanes QB Brad Kaaya to face huge test at Nebraska

    With Kevin Olsen no longer at UM and Ryan Williams nearing his comeback, Kaaya says he's ready to enter hostile territory.

Join the

The Miami Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Miami Herald uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here.

Have a news tip? You can send it anonymously. Click here to send us your tip - or - consider joining the Public Insight Network and become a source for The Miami Herald and el Nuevo Herald.

Hide Comments

This affects comments on all stories.

Cancel OK

  • Marketplace

Today's Circulars

  • Quick Job Search

Enter Keyword(s) Enter City Select a State Select a Category