NASCAR - Camping World Truck - N.C. Education Lottery 200 Preview


The Sports Network

Date: Friday, May 16

Start Time: 8:30 p.m. ET

Site: Charlotte Motor Speedway -- Concord, N.C.

Track: 1.5-mile oval

Laps: 134

Miles: 201

Capacity: 135,000 (Grandstand Seating)

Total purse:


Year: 12th

On TV: FOX Sports 1


On Radio: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio

Race record: Kyle Busch, 2006 (124.845 mph)

Qualifying record: Mike Skinner, 2005 (183.051 mph)

2013 Finish

Defending champion: Kyle Busch

Runner up: Brendan Gaughan

Pole winner: Jeb Burton (181.372 mph)

Top 10:

1. Kyle Busch (Start: 4)

2. Brendan Gaughan (23)

3. Max Gresham (21)

4. Matt Crafton (14)

5. Ty Dillon (2)

6. James Buescher (12)

7. Miguel Paludo (5)

8. John Wes Townley (18)

9. Ross Chastain (7)

10. Justin Lofton (6)

Average speed: 105.882 mph

Time of race: 1 hr., 53 mins., 54 secs.

Margin of victory: 0.468 secs.

Caution flags: 8 for 40 laps

Lead changes: 7 among 5 drivers

Past winners

2013 Kyle Busch, Toyota, 105.882 mph

2012 Justin Lofton, Chevrolet, 109.786 mph

2011 Kyle Busch, Toyota, 101.615 mph

2010 Kyle Busch, Toyota, 109.653 mph

2009 Ron Hornaday Jr, Chevrolet, 121.125 mph

2008 Matt Crafton, Chevrolet, 111.490 mph

2007 Ron Hornaday Jr, Chevrolet, 122.809 mph

2006 Kyle Busch, Chevrolet, 124.845 mph

2005 Kyle Busch, Chevrolet, 104.571 mph

2004 Dennis Setzer, Chevrolet, 107.631 mph

2003 Ted Musgrave, Dodge, 114.768 mph

Last race

Race: SFP 250 (May 9)

Site: Kansas Speedway -- Kansas City, Kan.

Miles: 250.5

Laps: 167

Finish line order: Kyle Busch, Matt Crafton, Joey Logano, Austin Dillon, Tayler Malsam

Time of Race: 2 hrs., 20 mins., 25 secs.

Average speed: 107.039 mph

Margin of victory: 3.020 secs.

Caution flags: 9 for 46 laps

Lead changes: 15 among 6 drivers

Lap leaders: K. Busch 1-5, Blaney 6, K. Busch 7-15, Logano 16-17, K. Busch K. Busch 1-5, Blaney 6, K. Busch 7-15, Logano 16-17, K. Busch 18-35, Weller III 36, K. Busch 37-59, Blaney 60, K. Busch 61-70, Quiroga Jr 71, Logano 72-73, K. Busch 74, Logano 75-111, K. Busch 112-127, Dillon 128-145, K. Busch 146-167.

Entry list

#02 Tyler Young (Midland, TX) Chevrolet/AKL Insurance Group

#5 John Wes Townley (Watkinsville, GA) Toyota/Zaxby's

#07 J.J. Yeley (Phoenix, AZ) Chevrolet/Thunder Exhaust

#7 Brian Ickler (San Diego, CA) Toyota/Bullet Liner

#08 Jimmy Weller III (Hubbard, OH) Chevrolet/ Steel

#8 Joe Nemechek (Lakeland, FL) Toyota/

#9 To Be Announced Chevrolet/Qore-24

#10 Jennifer Jo Cobb (Kansas City, KS) Chevrolet/

#13 Jeb Burton (Halifax, VA) Toyota/TBA

#17 Timothy Peters (Providence, NC) Toyota/Red Horse Racing

#19 Brad Keselowski (Rochester Hills, MI Ford/Draw Tite

#20 Austin Dillon (Welcome, NC) Chevrolet/NTS Motorsports

#21 Joey Coulter (Miami Springs, FL) Chevrolet/Allegiant Travel

#23 Max Gresham (Milner, GA) Chevrolet/AmWins Group Inc.

#28 Ryan Ellis (Torrance, CA) Chevrolet/FDNY Racing

#29 Ryan Blaney (High Point, NC) Ford/Cooper Standard

#30 Ron Hornaday Jr. (Palmdale, CA) Chevrolet/Rheem

#31 Ben Kennedy (Daytona Beach, FL) Chevrolet/Turner Scott Motorsports

#32 Tayler Malsam (Seattle, WA) Chevrolet/Outerwall

#35 Mason Mingus (Brentwood, TN) Toyota/811 Call Before You

#42 Charles Lewandowski (Staff. Spr., CT Chevrolet/Randco/Young's Building

#50 T.J. Bell (Reno, NV) Chevrolet/TBA

#51 * Kyle Busch (Las Vegas, NV) Toyota/Hiring Our Heroes/ToyotaCare

#54 Darrell Wallace Jr. (Mobile, AL) Toyota/Toyota Time Sales Event

#57 Norm Benning (Level Green, PA) Chevrolet/TBA

#63 Justin Jennings (LaGrange, MO) Chevrolet/TBA

#77 German Quiroga (Mexico City, Mexico) Toyota/OtterBox

#82 Jake Crum (Statesville, NC) Chevrolet/My Freedom Smokes

#88 Matt Crafton (Tulare, CA) Toyota/Menards/Hormel

#92 Scott Riggs (Bahama, NC) Ford/BTS Tire/Thrifty Tire

#98 Johnny Sauter (Necedah, WI) Toyota/Nextant Aerospace

#99 Bryan Silas (Stuart, FL) Chevrolet/Bell Trucks America Inc.

Leading contenders

Name 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013
Kyle Busch Won Won 11 8 2 Won Won Won
Matt Crafton 9 8 7 Won 3 11 26 15 4
Jeb Burton 8 13
Brad Keselowski 24 28 2 14
Ryan Blaney 25
Timothy Peters 32 23 25 31 10 32 9 26
Darrell Wallace Jr. 27
Johnny Sauter 13 12 6 25 28
Ron Hornaday Jr 11 5 Won 23 Won 3 5 5 30
Joey Coulter 16 7 32
Austin Dillon 35 7
Ben Kennedy


The North Carolina Education Lottery 200 at Charlotte Motor Speedway is the fourth race on the 2014 Camping World Truck Series schedule.

Kyle Busch holds the record for most truck wins at Charlotte with five (2005, '06, '10, '11 and '13). Ron Hornaday Jr. is the only other driver with multiple truck victories there (2007 and '09).

Busch is the only driver who has won from the pole position at this track (2010).

Matt Crafton and David Starr are those drivers who have competed in each of the previous 11 truck races at Charlotte. Crafton, the defending series champion, took over the points lead after finishing second in last week's event at Kansas. Starr is not on the entry list for this weekend's race.

Three drivers scored their first career truck victories at Charlotte: Busch (2005), Crafton (2008) and Justin Lofton (2012).

The next race is the May 30 Lucas Oil 200 at Dover International Speedway. Busch won last year's event there.

Read more Craftsman Truck stories from the Miami Herald

  • Jones wins truck qualifying, heat race at Eldora

    Erik Jones won the pole for Wednesday night's Mudsummer Classic Camping World Truck Series race after posting the fastest lap in qualifying at Eldora Speedway, a half-mile dirt track.

  • Wallace Jr. wins Mudsummer Classic at Eldora

    Darrell Wallace Jr. put on a dominating performance but had to hold off Kyle Larson in a hard-fought battle during the closing laps to win Wednesday night's MudSummer Classic Camping World Truck Series race at Eldora Speedway.

  • Dillon, Larson set to battle again in truck race at Eldora

    Last year's truck race at Eldora marked the first time in nearly 43 years a NASCAR national touring series event was held on a dirt track. The last major NASCAR race ran on dirt had been on Sept. 30, 1970 when Richard Petty won the Home State 200 at the one-mile State Fairgrounds Speedway in Raleigh, North Carolina.

Miami Herald

Join the

The Miami Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Miami Herald uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here.

Have a news tip? You can send it anonymously. Click here to send us your tip - or - consider joining the Public Insight Network and become a source for The Miami Herald and el Nuevo Herald.

Hide Comments

This affects comments on all stories.

Cancel OK

  • Marketplace

Today's Circulars

  • Quick Job Search

Enter Keyword(s) Enter City Select a State Select a Category