Verizon IndyCar Series - Grand Prix of Indianapolis Preview


The Sports Network

Date: Saturday, May 10

Start Time: 3:50 p.m. ET

Site: Indianapolis Motor Speedway (road course) -- Indianapolis, Ind.

Track: 2.434-mile, 14-turn road course

Laps: 82

Miles: 200


Total purse:


Year: 1st



On Radio: IMS Radio Network/ SIRIUS XM Satellite

Race record:

Qualifying record:

Defending champion:

Runner up:

Pole winner:

Top 10:

Average speed:

Time of race:

Margin of victory:

Caution flags:

Lead changes:

Past winners

Last race

Race: Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama (April 27)

Site: Barber Motorsports Park -- Birmingham, Ala.

Miles: 164.22

Laps: 69 (Timed race: 1 hr., 40 mins.)

Finish line order: Ryan Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti, Scott Dixon, Simon Pagenaud, Will Power

Time of Race: 1 hr., 40 mins., 43.3337 secs.

Average speed: 94.537 mph

Margin of victory: Under Caution

Caution flags: 5 for 16 laps

Lead changes: 7 among 6 drivers

Lap leaders: Will Power 1-15; Ryan Hunter-Reay 16-22; Sebastian Saavedra Will Power 1-15; Ryan Hunter-Reay 16-22; Sebastian Saavedra 23-33; Hunter-Reay 34-48; Marco Andretti 49; Scott Dixon 50; Justin Wilson 51; Hunter-Reay 52-69.

Entry list

#2 Juan Pablo Montoya (Bogota, Colombia Chevrolet/Team Penske

#3 Helio Castroneves (Sao Paulo, Brazil Chevrolet/Team Penske

#7 Mikhail Aleshin (Moscow, Russia) Honda/Schmidt Peterson Motorsports

#8 Ryan Briscoe (Sydney, Australia) Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing

#9 Scott Dixon (Auckland, New Zealand) Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing

#10 Tony Kanaan (Salvador, Brazil) Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing

#11 Sebastien Bourdais (Le Mans, France) Chevrolet/KVSH Racing

#12 Will Power (Toowoomba, Australia) Chevrolet/Team Penske

#14 Takuma Sato (Tokyo, Japan) Honda/A.J. Foyt Enterprises

#15 Graham Rahal (New Albany, OH) Honda/Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

#16 Oriol Servia (Pals, Spain) Honda/Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

#17 Sebastian Saavedra (Bogota, Colombia Chevrolet/KVAFS Racing

#18 Carlos Huertas (Bogota, Colombia) Honda/Dale Coyne Racing

#19 Justin Wilson (Sheffield, England) Honda/Dale Coyne Racing

#20 Mike Conway (Bromley, England) Chevrolet/Ed Carpenter Racing

#25 Marco Andretti (Nazareth, PA) Honda/Andretti Autosport

#26 Franck Montagny (Feurs,Loire, France Honday/Andretti Autosport

#27 James Hinchcliffe (Toronto, Canada) Honda/Andretti Autosport

#28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Ft. Lauderdale, FL Honda/Andretti Autosport

#34 Carlos Munoz (Bogota, Colombia) Honda/Andretti-HVM

#41 Martin Plowman (Staffordshire, Eng.) Honda/A.J. Foyt Enterprises

#67 Josef Newgarden (Hendersonville, TN) Honda/Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing

#77 Simon Pagenaud (Montmorillon, France Honda/Schmidt Peterson Hamilton

#83 Charlie Kimball (Camarillo, CA) Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing

#99 Jack Hawksworth (Bradford, England) Honda/BHA/BBM

Leading contenders



The Grand Prix of Indianapolis on Indianapolis Motor Speedway's road course is the fourth race on the 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series schedule.

This 2.434-mile, 14-turn road course incorporates portions of turn 1 and 2 as well as the frontstretch of the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway. The racing will feature a standing start and will run clockwise, the opposite of the Indianapolis 500. Drivers will have at minimum four unique opportunities to pass, including the revised turn 1, a 90-degree right-hand corner.

The IMS road course was initially laid for the United States Grand Prix Formula One race that ran from 2000-07.

About 18 hours after the checkered flag flies on the GP of Indianapolis, the 2.5-mile oval opens for the initial practice session for the Indianapolis 500.

There have been three different winners in as many IndyCar races this season: Will Power (St. Petersburg, Fla.), Mike Conway (Long Beach, Calif.) and Ryan Hunter-Reay (Birmingham, Ala.).

The next race is the 98th running of the Indianapolis 500 on May 25. Tony Kanaan is the defending race champion.

Read more Open Wheel stories from the Miami Herald

Miami Herald

Join the

The Miami Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Miami Herald uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here.

Have a news tip? You can send it anonymously. Click here to send us your tip - or - consider joining the Public Insight Network and become a source for The Miami Herald and el Nuevo Herald.

Hide Comments

This affects comments on all stories.

Cancel OK

  • Marketplace

Today's Circulars

  • Quick Job Search

Enter Keyword(s) Enter City Select a State Select a Category