classical music

2014-15 seasons for Arsht Center, Cleveland Orchestra announced


South Florida Classical Review

The Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts has released its 2014-15 schedules for both its Classical Series and the Cleveland Orchestra’s programs at the downtown Miami center.

The Arsht Center apparently has decided that solo recitals are not enough of a draw in Miami, as none are included on next season’s roster. Five orchestras will come to Miami during the season, however, including a Cleveland Orchestra performance added to the Arsht series.

Michael Tilson Thomas and the San Francisco Symphony will open the Ziff Classical Music Series on Nov. 22. Gil Shaham will perform Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No. 2 on a program with works by Liszt, Ravel and Samuel Carl Adams.

Valery Gergiev and his Mariinsky Orchestra come to Miami on Feb. 6, with a program that includes Shchedrin’s Naughty Limericks, Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition and Tchaikovsky’s rarely heard Piano Concerto No. 2 with Denis Matsuev as soloist.

The Danish National Symphony Orchestra on Feb. 14 will offer a program that departs from populist crowd-pleasers when Rafael Fruhbeck de Burgos leads the ensemble in Carl Nielsen’s Symphony No. 4 The Inextinguishable. The rest of the program will be devoted to Sibelius, including Kuolema, Valse Triste and the Violin Concerto with Ray Chen as soloist.

On March 26 the Cleveland Orchestra will present Carl Orff’s quasi-medieval extravaganza Carmina Burana led by Giancarlo Guerrero. The program will include Leonard Bernstein’s Chichester Psalms. Soloists are baritone Stephen Powell, countertenor Anthony Roth Costanzo and soprano Nadine Sierra, a fast-rising Fort Lauderdale native.

Conductor Keith Lockhart and the BBC Orchestra will close the Arsht series on April 15. The program will include the Wasps Overture by Vaughan Williams, George Butterworth’s A Shropshire Lad, Dvorak’s Symphony No. 5 and Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No. 2 with Charlie Albright as soloist.

Season ticket prices for the five-concert Ziff Classical Music Series range from $182 to $530 and can be purchased or renewed beginning March 16. Go to, call 305-949-6722 or stop by the Arsht Center box office.


The Cleveland Orchestra will again present four weeks of music in Miami next season.

Giancarlo Guerrero will open the season Nov. 14-15 with a pops-style serving of symphonic showpieces including Tchaikovsky’s Capriccio italien, Respighi’s Fountains of Rome and Rimsky-Korsakov’s Capriccio espagnol. Guitarist Miloš Karadagić will break up the brilliance with Rodrigo’s Concierto de Aranjuez.

Franz Welser-Möst will lead three programs in a series titled “Fate and Freedom,” spotlighting music of Beethoven, Shostakovich and Mahler.

February will offer performances of two separate programs in one weekend for the first time in the Cleveland Orchestra residency. Welser-Möst conducts Beethoven’s Eroica symphony (No. 3) and Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 6 on Feb. 27. On February 28, the program will be Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5 and Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 10.

On March 6 and 7, the Cleveland Orchestra program will be devoted to a single work, Mahler’s Symphony No. 6, with Welser-Möst conducting.

Giancarlo Guerrero will wrap the season March 26-28 with the aforementioned Orff and Bernstein program. The March 26 performance is part of the Arsht Classical Series.

Subscriptions for the Cleveland Orchestra’s 2014-15 season are on sale now and start at $135 for a four-concert package. Single tickets will be available in September. Call 305-949-6722 or visit or

Read more Performing Arts stories from the Miami Herald

Miami Herald

Join the

The Miami Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Miami Herald uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here.

Have a news tip? You can send it anonymously. Click here to send us your tip - or - consider joining the Public Insight Network and become a source for The Miami Herald and el Nuevo Herald.

Hide Comments

This affects comments on all stories.

Cancel OK

  • Marketplace

Today's Circulars

  • Quick Job Search

Enter Keyword(s) Enter City Select a State Select a Category