National Signing Day | Northwestern

Northwestern’s JoJo Robinson chooses Arkansas


More information



JoJo Robinson – Arkansas

Michael Smith – Miami

Ryan Mayes – Miami

Shermarke Spence - FIU

Jestin Snow - FAMU

Troy Wilkins – Bethune-Cookman

Terel Gissendanner – Cheney

Tyrone Glanton – Virginia Union

William Rolack – Palomar Community College

Keyto Lee – Hastings College

Trevis Mckinney – Mayville State

Antwan Clark – Cheney

Kevin Pinkney – Cheney

Odis Grimes - Howard


Jeffery Green - Clemson

Jontavia Dykes – Florida

Lloydricia Cameron - Florida

Special to the Herald

Seventeen Northwestern student-athletes, including 15 football players, signed National Letters of Intent Wednesday morning at the school’s media center.

JoJo Robinson chose Arkansas over South Florida, Florida State and Miami. The four-star athlete made all-county third team this season.

Robinson, who will be used as a wide receiver and returner, had heard only good things about the Razorbacks from former teammate De’Andre Coley, South Plantation running back Alex Collins and Booker T. Washington offensive tackle Denver Kirkland.

All three play at Fayetteville, where Collins earned SEC Freshman of the Year honors in 2013.

Though it was Robinson’s second visit, that trip stood above the rest. He credits head coach Bret Bielema and linebackers coach Randy Shannon.

“A couple years ago they were a top program,” Robinson said. “They had a couple of down years. I feel like I can bring them back to the top.”

Michael Smith, meanwhile, continues the Northwestern-University of Miami pipeline.

The four-star recruit, who earned first team All-Dade, recorded 42 tackles, seven sacks and 51 quarterback hurries as a senior. He will spend time on both the defensive line and linebacker positions.

“Keep it going,” Smith said of the legacy. “I always wanted to go to the University of Miami. I always wanted to stay home with my family. This is what I always wanted to do.”

Safety Ryan Mayes, a three-star recruit according to, is already enrolled at Miami. He was one of nine early enrollees for the Hurricanes.

Former University of Miami players Marcus Forston, DeMarcus Van Dyke, Sean Spence, Jacory Harris, Tommy Streeter, Lamar Miller and Willis McGahee were in attendance to support Sean’s younger brother, Shermarke, who signed with FIU.

“It feels great for my family and friends to be here at the same time,” said Shermarke, who expects to play rover in college. “These guys have supported me, been here for me. I knew these guys since I was younger because all these guys played together in high school. Everything is like a big family. Those are like my long-lost brothers.”

Track-and-field state champions Lloydricia Cameron and Jontavia Dykes will compete for Florida, while Jeffery Green will do so at Clemson.

Read more Miami-Dade High Schools stories from the Miami Herald

Miami Herald

Join the

The Miami Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Miami Herald uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here.

Have a news tip? You can send it anonymously. Click here to send us your tip - or - consider joining the Public Insight Network and become a source for The Miami Herald and el Nuevo Herald.

Hide Comments

This affects comments on all stories.

Cancel OK

  • Marketplace

Today's Circulars

  • Quick Job Search

Enter Keyword(s) Enter City Select a State Select a Category