FSU notebook

Several Florida State Seminoles nominated for awards


Miami Herald Writer

Four Seminoles were named finalists for national awards on Monday. No. 2 FSU (11-0) is currently in line to play for a BCS national championship.

Quarterback Jameis Winston is a finalist for Davey O’Brien Award, presented annually to the nation’s top quarterback, as well as the Maxwell award, given to the college Player of the Year. Winston has thrown for 3,163 yards and 32 touchdowns this season. He is a touchdown pass from tying the FSU record for the most in a single season.

Cornerback Lamarcus Joyner (Fort Lauderdale St. Thomas Aquinas) was named a finalist for the Jim Thorpe Award (nation’s top defensive back). Tight End Nick O’Leary is a finalist for the Mackey Award (nation’s top tight end). And redshirt freshman kicker Roberto Aguayo is a finalist for the Groza Award, presented to the nation’s top kicker.

The winners will be announced Dec. 12.

Read more FSU stories from the Miami Herald

Join the

The Miami Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Miami Herald uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here.

Have a news tip? You can send it anonymously. Click here to send us your tip - or - consider joining the Public Insight Network and become a source for The Miami Herald and el Nuevo Herald.

Hide Comments

This affects comments on all stories.

Cancel OK

  • Marketplace

Today's Circulars

  • Quick Job Search

Enter Keyword(s) Enter City Select a State Select a Category