Broward elections bring new blood, fresh faces to leadership positions

It looks like Miramar may have a fresh face on the dais when the City Commission next meets.

Yvette Colbourne, who had never run for political office before, held onto a solid lead over incumbent Troy Samuels for Seat 2 in Tuesday’s elections. Voters in Miramar and eight other Broward cities went to the polls.

With all Miramar precincts counted, incumbent Winston Barnes led by a margin of more than 3-1 over his challenger for Seat 3. A third incumbent, Alexandra Davis, ran unopposed.

Colbourne and Barnes, who will serve four-year terms, will join Mayor Lori Moseley and Commissioner Wayne Messam.

“I am humbled and grateful to the city of Miramar for their vote of confidence that they have given me today,” said Colbourne, 51, a Miami-Dade County administrator who focused her campaign on bridging east and west Miramar. “I truly believe in one Miramar, and look forward to having one goal, one Miramar.”

In the Seat 3 race, incumbent Barnes, 64, fended off a second challenge from Alejandro Casas, 64.

Holding onto his seat “was a decision of the people,” said Barnes, who has been on the commission 10 of the 14 years he has lived in the city.

“With 40 years working in radio, the residents know me and have a pretty good idea of what I stand for,” said Barnes, news director at WAVS 1170 AM radio and a Florida Memorial University adjunct professor who teaches a voice and diction course.

Davis, who did not face a challenger and has been on the commission for two years, said she is ready to begin her new term.

“Once the elections are over with, we can get back to the business of the city,” she said.

In other Broward cities:

Coconut Creek

Sandra L. Welch, a political newcomer and executive assistant at American Express, won the District C commission seat over challengers Bruce A. Augello, 55, and Patricia L. Duaybes, 44 . Welch, 64, received more than half of the votes.

The seat was left vacant by Marilyn Gerber, who stepped down after 17 years on the dais.

Deerfield Beach

Incumbent Mayor Peggy Noland faced a challenge by Jean Robb, the city’s mayor from 1980 to 1993, in a race so tight that elections officials said there would probably be a recount. Robb led by a handful of votes and a recount is likely.

In the District 3 race, Richard S. Rosenzweig held a small lead over challengers Donna Capobianco and Caryl Berner. Fewer than 70 votes separated Rosenzweig and Capobianco. The three Century Village residents were vying for the seat left vacant by Marty Popelsky, who could not run due to term limits.

Fort Lauderdale

Former Commissioner Dean Trantalis appeared to clinch a victory for the District 2 seat over former Commissioner Charlotte Rodstrom.

Trantalis, who was the city’s first openly gay commissioner, focused his campaign on safer and stronger neighborhoods.

Rodstrom, who gave up her seat in November to run for County Commission, was down by less than 20 votes. Provisional ballots must still be counted, which could trigger an automatic recount if the difference narrows.

Oakland Park

Sara Guevrekian, a Royal Palm Isles neighborhood activist, defeated former Mayor Steven Arnst and Ruben Jean for the District 1 seat. The seat was left vacant after Mayor Anne Sallee did not seek reelection.

Tim Lonergan, a political newcomer, defeated former Mayor Layne Dallet Walls, for Seat 5. Lonergan will replace Commissioner Suzanne Boisvenue, who was affected by term limits.

Voters also cast ballots for six charter amendments. All appeared to be on their way to passing, including one to reschedule elections from March to November.


Christine Hunschofsky, a 12-year resident and community volunteer, easily led challenger Nancy Schwamb Robeson for the District 2 seat. Hunschofsky, who led by a margin of more than 4-1, often writes about city meetings in a local magazine. The seat was left vacant by Jared Moskowitz, who successfully ran for state representative.


Jerry Fadgen led Eric Boucher and Jeff Holness for the Group 2 seat. Fadgen, a former councilman and mayoral candidate, had more than double the votes of his closest challenger. He will serve two years to finish out the term of Sharon Moody, who resigned.

A political newcomer, Chris Zimmerman was poised to unseat incumbent Peter Tingom for the Group 4 seat Tuesday night. Zimmerman, who has lived in the city for 24 years, criticized Tingom’s votes to increase taxes.

Incumbent Bob Levy, the town manager of Pembroke Park, held a strong lead over challenger Darren Badore, a political newcomer for the Group 5 seat. Levy, who has been on the commission for eight years, will serve a four-year term.

Pompano Beach

Incumbent Mayor Lamar Fisher held onto his seat by a more than 4-1 margin after being challenged for the first time in 10 years. Fisher, who defeated David Baumwald, will serve a three-year term.

In the District 2 race, Charlotte Burrie was reelected. The attorney and former city clerk faced Thomas Terwilliger for the three-year term.

Incumbent Woodrow “Woody” Poitier once again fended off Ed Phillips and Joseph Wells for the District 4 seat. Poitier has held the seat since 2008.


Seven candidates were vying to join the city commission, and one — Neil C. Kerch — was leading late in the race. Late Tuesday, with all precincts counted, only a few votes separated several candidates. The other candidates were Yomtov “Vivi” Assidon, Imogene Baldwin-Ferguson, John Tómas Fusaro, Kris Hobbs, David Iannacone and James H. Tabeek.

Miami Herald writer Camila Alfonso contributed to this report, which includes information from the Sun Sentinel.

Read more Broward stories from the Miami Herald

Miami Herald

Join the

The Miami Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Miami Herald uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here.

Have a news tip? You can send it anonymously. Click here to send us your tip - or - consider joining the Public Insight Network and become a source for The Miami Herald and el Nuevo Herald.

Hide Comments

This affects comments on all stories.

Cancel OK

  • Marketplace

Today's Circulars

  • Quick Job Search

Enter Keyword(s) Enter City Select a State Select a Category