Classical music review

Ohlsson, Cleveland Orchestra deliver probing Beethoven, bravura Berlioz


For more than four decades, Garrick Ohlsson has been a regular presence on the world’s leading concert stages. One of the most reliable of keyboard artists, Ohlsson has specialized in the Romantic repertoire since his first-prize victory at the 1970 Chopin International Competition in Warsaw. In recent seasons he has been acclaimed for complete cycles of Beethoven’s piano sonatas.

Ohlsson’s performance of Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 4 with Franz Welser-Möst and the Cleveland Orchestra on Friday night at the Arsht Center was masterful, a demonstration of probing musicianship devoid of flashy bombast.

Read the review at

Read more Performing Arts stories from the Miami Herald

Miami Herald

Join the

The Miami Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Miami Herald uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here.

Have a news tip? You can send it anonymously. Click here to send us your tip - or - consider joining the Public Insight Network and become a source for The Miami Herald and el Nuevo Herald.

Hide Comments

This affects comments on all stories.

Cancel OK

  • Marketplace

Today's Circulars

  • Quick Job Search

Enter Keyword(s) Enter City Select a State Select a Category