UM’s Mark D’Onofrio, former FIU coach Mario Cristobal interview for Temple job

University of Miami defensive coordinator Mark D’Onofrio has interviewed for the coaching job at Temple University in Philadelphia, the Philadelphia Inquirer and (Rivals) reported Monday.

Former Temple coach Steve Addazio departed Temple this past Tuesday to become coach at Boston College.

D’Onofrio was the Temple defensive coordinator from 2006 to 2010, when UM coach Al Golden was the coach there. D’Onofrio’s defense this year was among the worst in the nation in every category, though he helped turn Temple’s around.

Meanwhile, sources close to former FIU coach Mario Cristobal also confirmed an Inquirer report that he interviewed this weekend for the Temple job. Cristobal had drawn some interest from the University of Colorado, which on Monday hired Mike MacIntyre from San Jose State for its coaching job.

Cristobal’s next job and how soon it happens matters as far as how much money FIU will have to spend on its next coach for the next couple of years. If he gets another head coaching job for next year, FIU could be on the hook for as little as $453,183. If he doesn’t, FIU has to pay him $906,366.

UM honors

Running back/return specialist Duke Johnson and safety Deon Bush were named to the second-team Freshman All-America squad by

Johnson and linebacker Eddie Johnson were named to the All-Freshman Team.

Other honorees

Mike James received the Jack Harding Team Most Valuable Player Award on Sunday at the Hurricanes’ end-of-season banquet at Jungle Island, where 18 seniors were presented with their framed jerseys.

• The other awards, as chosen by the coaching staff: Newcomer of the Year — Deon Bush; Defensive MVP — Shayon Green; Offensive MVP — Stephen Morris; Special Teams MVP — Duke Johnson; Scout Team Player of the Year — Akil Craig and Eduardo Lopez; Melching Leadership — Mike James; Community Service Man — Mike James; U Respect Award — Jeremy Lewis; Plumer Award for Leadership, Motivation and Spirit — Brandon McGee; Captain’s Award — Shayon Green, Mike James, Brandon McGee and Stephen Morris; Training Room Comeback Player of the Year — Ben Jones; Hurricane Media Good Guy — Dalton Botts; UM Sports Hall of Fame Unsung Hero — Maurice Hagens; Walt Kichefski Hurricane — Jake Wieclaw; Nick Chickillo Most Improved Player — Davon Johnson; Albert Bentley Most Valuable Walk-On — Nantambu Fentress and Paul Kelly; Strength Training Athlete of the Year — Andrew Swasey.

Miami Herald sportswriter David J. Neal contributed to this report.

Read more State Colleges stories from the Miami Herald

University of Miami Pole Vaulter Alysha Newman is shown at practice in Coral Gables on April 15, 2014.

    UM | Track and Field

    University of Miami pole vaulter Alysha Newman overcomes fear to succeed

    To watch Alysha Newman vault nearly 15 feet in the air, she seems like a natural. But don’t let the stunning visual of an airborne Newman fool you. She’s just about as petrified as you might be if you were to try this daredevil event in track and field.

This image from Sept. 2003 video shows Miami booster Nevin Shapiro gesturing on the field at an NCAA college football game between Miami and Florida, in Miami, Fla.  The NCAA's probe of Miami's athletic compliance practices is ramping up yet again. Only this time, the Hurricanes aren't exactly the subject of the inquiry. The NCAA itself is being investigated after NCAA President Mark Emmert acknowledged on Wednesday, Jan. 23, 2013, "a very severe issue of improper conduct" by former investigators working the long, complex Miami case. (AP Photo/WFOR/CBS4)

    Legal affairs

    Florida Bar accuses lawyer who represented UM booster Nevin Shapiro

    Maria Elena Perez, who represented Ponzi schemer Nevin Shapiro, was slapped with allegations of ethical violations during botched NCAA probe.

  • Colleges | Barry University

    No. 1 Barry men win Sunshine State golf title

    Barry University, ranked No. 1 in the nation and led by Adam Svensson, won the Sunshine State Championship title by 18 strokes over Saint Leo at the Lake Jovita Golf & Country Club, a 7,072-yard par-72 course, in Dade City. Barry totaled a 19-under-par 845 team total for the tournament and recorded a school-record sixth tournament victory of the season.

Get your Miami Heat Fan Gear!

Join the

The Miami Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Miami Herald uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here.

Have a news tip? You can send it anonymously. Click here to send us your tip - or - consider joining the Public Insight Network and become a source for The Miami Herald and el Nuevo Herald.

Hide Comments

This affects comments on all stories.

Cancel OK

  • Marketplace

Today's Circulars

  • Quick Job Search

Enter Keyword(s) Enter City Select a State Select a Category